SAU Community

A Permanent Coil Pack Fix! So Far!

My coil packs went out on me on the dyno. Needless to say I was a little upset. So I started to search for a fix cause I'm cheap! LOL! All I could find was the old 3m tape trick. So I tried that and it worked for a little while. Then about 4-5 days later low and behold they started the same crap again!

At this point I was about to bite the bullet and spend the money on Split fire coils. Before I did, I wanted to pull the coils out and see exactly what was going on! They were firing threw their plastic housing! There were small, I mean SMALL cracks in the plastic housings on about 4 of the coils. I hooked them up and started the car up and turned out all the lights in the shop! Talk about a light show!!

This told me the coils themselves were actually working! It was just that there housings had failed. I'm a Honda tech by trade and I've seen a countless number of internal coils on Hondas go out due to the heat that they endure being inside of the distributor. Now on the Honda models that have the coil on the outside of the distributor away from all the heat, they never have a problem. Long story short it does appear to be a failure in the coil housing due to heat.

So I set out to see if I could remedy the housing problem. (Since the coils still seemed to be firing good.)

I looked around at allot of coatings and the like but I remembered how I had made my motor mounts in my car! I used a two part urethane. It's called Flexane. It's made by a company named Devcon.

Heck it was a real good urethane that could be brushed on or even used to dip things in. So I decided to give it a try.