Japan Auto Salon Trip

elrodeo666

Thought I'd throw up photos of a different perspective of a trip to Tokyo Auto Salon. This is drive was from the top of Japan from Sapporo to Tokyo and back via Auto Salon and workshops etc..I had to do a run in programme on the new motor, was limited to sweet FA boost and 4500 RPM limiter but still cruised the highways aound the 140kph..

Its a bit of a mix as some pics taken by me and some by the misso on her camera.

Between us there's about 1500 plus pics so will take some time to sort through the rubbish but I'll post up pics as I go through them..

So here we go....

Warming the car up ready to leave Sapporo after a morning of snow

P1140949.jpg

View from inside the car looking out from my street !!

P1140953.jpg

First Toll Gate

P1140955.jpg

View on the road

JF0S2456.jpg

JF0S2460.jpg

JF0S2466.jpg

JF0S2469.jpg

First Rest Stop

JF0S2462.jpg

JF0S2465.jpg

JF0S2455.jpg

cop In Shit...GTR's are without doubt the best car I have driven in the snow and ice. And yes the car gets washed every time on the road !!

JF0S2458.jpg

After a wash

P1140959.jpg

At Ferry Terminal.

It was -8c and strong will with wind chill of -20c so so f@#king cold !!

P1140961.jpg

Waiting to board the ferry... The crew were paranoid that I couldnt get on as front lip is pretty low but it was sweet, just got on without scraping!

P1140972.jpg

P1140973.jpg

Going from Hakkodate in Hokkaido to Aomori on top of Honshu.

P1140977.jpg

Ferry comfort Jap Style..

P1140978.jpg

P1140980.jpg

4 hrs later and land ho...lights of Aomori

P1140985.jpg

Heading back down into the belly of the ferry to a very cold GTR

P1140989.jpg

P1140991.jpg

P1140992.jpg

P1140993.jpg

P1140994.jpg

P1140995.jpg

Aomori and more bloody snow !!

P1141000.jpg

P1141001.jpg

Ok thats it for now...will load more later !!

Great shots Mark!

Thanks Dave , heaps more to come.

I still have to get round to uploading pics from Nismo festival. I got alot of good shots of cars from different car parks.

Ok here we go with some more...

After spending the night in Aomori we hit the road again..Yep more snow but the new 2.8 was cruising on the highway!

P1151013.jpg

P1151012.jpg

JF0S2473.jpg

Finally we were out of snowy highway driving and onto some clean roads..pit stop time!

P1151022.jpg

P1151019.jpg

Finally after 350 km's we got to Sendai..and still another 370km's to Tokyo

P1151026.jpg

P1151027.jpg

Late arvo early evening and an hour to Tokyo

P1151038.jpg

P1151039.jpg

Highway Toll ticket..that puppy was 13,550 yen fro 720 km's and 9 and half hour trip. Highway use in Japan is bloody expensive.

P1151047.jpg

P1151067.jpg

Yey Tokyo...ya definitely need the Navi here !

P1151080.jpg

P1151082.jpg

Pachinko Advertising Sign..

P1151084.jpg

Tokyo traffic jam

P1151086.jpg

Ok Stayed on the outskirts of Yokohama as got soem friends out there.

Next morning off to Mines via the scenic route.

P1161087.jpg

P1161088.jpg

P1161092.jpg

P1161096.jpg

P1161098.jpg

P1161099.jpg

P1161113.jpg

Quick stop and stretch the legs and fill her up Jap style !

P1161100.jpg

This was part of the Japanese Royal families Summer beachside estate.

P1161102.jpg

P1161103.jpg

P1161104.jpg

So finally arrived at

P1161127.jpg

They werent doing Auto Salon as booths there are getting too expensive. A few other big names pulled the pin this year and rumour is a few more wont be doing next years Auto Salon.

But they were letting people have a look around the workshop and out there was the original famous Mines GTR34.

P1161118.jpg

JF0S2482.jpg

JF0S2484.jpg

Ok here we go with some more...

After spending the night in Aomori we hit the road again..Yep more snow but the new 2.8 was cruising on the highway!

P1151013.jpg

P1151012.jpg

JF0S2473.jpg

Finally we were out of snowy highway driving and onto some clean roads..pit stop time!

P1151022.jpg

P1151019.jpg

Finally after 350 km's we got to Sendai..and still another 370km's to Tokyo

P1151026.jpg

P1151027.jpg

Late arvo early evening and an hour to Tokyo

P1151038.jpg

P1151039.jpg

Highway Toll ticket..that puppy was 13,550 yen fro 720 km's and 9 and half hour trip. Highway use in Japan is bloody expensive.

P1151047.jpg

P1151067.jpg

Yey Tokyo...ya definitely need the Navi here !

P1151080.jpg

P1151082.jpg

Pachinko Advertising Sign..

P1151084.jpg

Tokyo traffic jam

P1151086.jpg

Ok Stayed on the outskirts of Yokohama as got soem friends out there.

Next morning off to Mines via the scenic route.

P1161087.jpg

P1161088.jpg

P1161092.jpg

P1161096.jpg

P1161098.jpg

P1161099.jpg

P1161113.jpg

Quick stop and stretch the legs and fill her up Jap style !

P1161100.jpg

This was part of the Japanese Royal families Summer beachside estate.

P1161102.jpg

P1161103.jpg

P1161104.jpg

So finally arrived at

P1161127.jpg

They werent doing Auto Salon as booths there are getting too expensive. A few other big names pulled the pin this year and rumour is a few more wont be doing next years Auto Salon.

But they were letting people have a look around the workshop and out there was the original famous Mines GTR34.

P1161118.jpg

JF0S2482.jpg

JF0S2484.jpg

Ok, been a bit slack posting more pics up and been sufering a nasty hangove but here's some more.

After Mines it was quick run out Zeles. Not their main shop but hit their after. Had to go out this way to se a mate so just had a quick stop then back into Yokohama.

P1161142.jpg

P1161145.jpg

Back on the road and heading to Yokohama.

P1161147.jpg

P1161171.jpg

P1161188.jpg

P1161189.jpg

P1161193.jpg

P1161197.jpg

Yeah mate not a problem.

I did it in my own car that I have been building the last 2 years and needed to rack up some k's for running in new motor.

But anyone can pretty much fly into anywhere in Japan and rent a car,van,bike,truck and do a road trip. You'll spend a bit of coin but have a heap of fun and great way to get out and see alot more of Japan.

These guys do some pretty good deals on rentals...just pick a place you want to go to and click on that and it will show rental places where you can pickup/drop off.

They often have some good specials...

http://www2.tocoo.jp/?file=rentcar_inbound...amp;asp_id=0001

On my last trip a few SAU guys and myself hired an Elgrand. Certainly the best idea. Tolls are expensive but we did cover alot of Tokyo and surrounding areas.

Worth every Yen :D

Even caught up with Marky Mark here :)

Toocoo is the best i found for car rentals, very good deals.

keep the photos comming!

I love photo diarys.. They are such a great insight to an amazing culture.

I've actually been a lazy bastard and havent posted any more pics..

Seriously been busy as packing up 2 houses in Japan, sending shit to Oz and Korea, storing other crap in Japan and trying to get my car sorted to send down under.

Now I'm here in Oz its been non stop house hunting which we finally found last friday, buying a daily driver (jeez theres some absolute,way over priced crap out there) s and slowly sorting things out.

My main computer with a container of our stuff should arrive soon so I'll post up a bucket load more pics soon.

Also I'll get around to posting up pics from last years Nismo Event, got some shots of some sick cars.

I'll even throw up a sorta pictography of parts of japan you guys dont usually see in the next few weeks as I get organised.

And maybe even some hot candy !

On my last trip a few SAU guys and myself hired an Elgrand. Certainly the best idea. Tolls are expensive but we did cover alot of Tokyo and surrounding areas.

Worth every Yen :merli:

Even caught up with Marky Mark here :(

Toocoo is the best i found for car rentals, very good deals.

Yeah Tooccoo is pretty good if you cant read and speak ping pong, plus you can usually get GPS in english.

If you can read and speak the lingo theres heaps of great deals out on some of the jap travel websites , but you need to be pretty fluent to understand it.