SAU Community

Diy R34 Gt To Gtr Conversion

Shotgun!

Hey guys, just completed a gtr front conversion on my r34. Thought i should post up a DIY since i couldn't really find any here (maybe i just suck at searching). Just to clear 1 thing up first and foremost, its not a straight bolt on even if you have the so called "required parts". Theres still abit of cutting a modyfing involved. Oh and by the way i'm no car expert so please excuse if i don't name bits and peices of the car as they should be :D

Just bear in mind i havn't take measurements etc. I'm just showing you what i did and what is involved. First off here's the Parts you will need to make it work:

-obviously the GTR front bar, GTR bonnet

-GTR bonnet hinges (i made custom 1's instead, but highly advise you buy the hinges as it saves alot of stuffing around unless you're experienced with metal fabrication)

-GTR bonnet catch "assembly". alot of people just say 'bonnet catch' but that's wrong, you need the actual metal frame that catch sits on aswell. However you can also do what i did and not buy all that and just modify your current 1.

-custom supports and brackets/frames

So to jump straight in. Start by removing your hood. Pretty straight forward. If your using GTR hinges then obviously you want to undo bolts (1) and (2). however if you want to just modify your existing hinges then you just need to remove bolts (1) only. Do that and off she comes, and don't forget to disconnet your bonnet washer cable.

post-69990-1289217039_thumb.jpg

post-69990-1289217130_thumb.jpg

Next you want to remove your existing bar. Start by removing the 2 screws/clips in the top corners and the 3 clips in the centre.

post-69990-1289217153_thumb.jpg