SAU Community

First Time Engine Build. Rb25/30 Neo Advice

iruvyouskyrine

Hi all.

Let me preface this by saying that this is my first time doing anything like this. I have never done any work on an engine before and i am looking to make this a learning experience just as much as i want it to be a decent engine. I a very mechanically minded and am more than willing to give anything a shot. I always do hours and hours of reading making sure that i know pretty much as uch as possible before actually diving in and doing anything. I have spent probably 30 hours reading up on RB30 conversions and now i think that it is time to ask for some input from you guys as i still have some unanswered questions.

For the build i will be using my RB25DET NEO head, 6boost highmount, X-spurt 100cc inj, Hypergear SS2, 44mm ext gate, E85 and the NIStune will be running the show. I will also be using a MLS standard 1.3mm headgasket and ARP head studs on either engine no matter what.

The situation thus far. I have in my possession a known good running RB30 with 180xxx on the clock. I also have an RB30 that had a bottom end knock when it was removed with 170xxx km.

Originally my plan was to tear down the known good block and get it cleaned (i presume this is what acid dipping does) and i would clean the rods/pistons up myself at home. I would then reassemble everything using cleaned stock parts, except for ARP main studs, head studs and rod bolts, and i would use a fresh set of ACL main and big end bearings. I wanted to tear it down to satisfy my information for knowing how things work and wanting to know how to disassemble/reassemble and engine just as much as for engine longevity. I was also going to shim the oil pump as per Simon-S14's RB30.