SAU Community

Rb26 Running Hot

God_speed

What could be causing an RB26's water temp to run steadily at 85-95 degrees C in normal road driving, then with no change in driving behaviour, suddenly increase more than 20 degrees in the space of less than 20 seconds, as recorded by the MFD?

Ambient temperature is approx 30 degrees. Temp will be at 95 at a steady cruise then increase to 119 then drop back to 95-100 just as quickly - all in less than a minute.

Cooling system has been bled (though could probably be bled even more?)

Nismo radiator

Coolant flush less than 2,000km ago

N1 water pump

Car has Nismo thermostat I believe, but not 100% sure.

I am no mechanic - just old

85-95 sounds normal but does indicate it is not a Nismo thermostat which would be running cooler than 80.

The sudden increase and then just as sudden reduction I think could be Air or more likely a slipping belt on the water pump.

Another thought because I love to jump in without all the knowledge. Temp Sender on the housing or stuck thermostat.

Edited by Sinista32
  • Like 1

Thanks guys

I'm thinking thermostat to begin with. I will probably change it anyway for insurance or at least have it checked.

It's happened on a few occasions now, without even running the car hard. No major mods before the onset of this issue.

I just had to stop the engine in a turning lane as it just hit 120 and I switched her off immediately. Waited about 10 minutes but it wasn't decreasing in temperature by much if anything. Ran the blower on max heat. Managed to start it after waiting the 10 mins and the tune has a safety precaution programmed into the ECU, I believe. Ran like a dog and wouldn't rev, but I got enough revs out of it to get it moving and to get the heater running and circulating the coolant. As soon as it got moving and I managed to put some proper revs on the motor (say 3k), the water temp plummeted back to 100-105. I'm sitting in a bloody servo atm.