Changes To Import Laws - Good Or Bad?

No Crust Racing

As per Iron Chefs FB post linking to this article - http://www.theguardian.com/business/2016/feb/10/australians-to-bypass-car-dealers-and-import-directly-from-japan-and-uk

Are we all expecting that to have a good or bad impact on import prices?

Easier access will hopefully mean more competition, but more demand might also see prices not drop.

I wouldn't mind an R35 down the track and I'm guessing they will be cheaper for us under this scheme, but in turn that will drop the value on my 34 perhaps.

JPY9.6 million for 2016 gtr

Much better than the ludicrous local price

But you'll still have to pay LCT, GST and stamps,plus rego,transport costs. You'll also lose some on the money exchange. You'll quickly find that the Aussie prices of R35 are pretty spot on, ie not a rip-off.

I've been doing a bit of reading, it seems all everyone cares about this scheme is cheaper cars that's already available here.

I reckon we should get excited to the fact we can get some cars that aren't available here originally like latest Civic Type R, Seat Leon Cupra (heaps better than Golf GTI), Mark X, Alphrad, Vellfire and such.

I'm sure there'll be more cars out there that people will want.

i would like to see what actually happens with LCT,

im in the auto industry and lct is a huge player for cars.

at the moment LCT needs to be paid ON NEW CARS, but the grey area which we play, a used car does not pay it but if a "demo car" is registered under a dealer the lct flows down to the first owner, but a used car does not apply, so its the first registered owner of the "new car"

so if a used car (500km 12 month) car comes from japan, i dont know if LCT will be applied or not, big difference if you wanted to buy a $300,000 car for instance.

hopefully the actual effect is not against the dealers but the manufactures. they might need to stop charging the Australian market (the retailers... not the consumers) more for cars that are sold cheaper overseas. its not the dealers fault that we get a higher price, we do not make more money that our overseas counterparts, their are not higher margins, probably lower.

we are the P'platers of the world market, we get what we are given and that is a small part of the available line up and we generally miss allot of the specs given to all ofther countries, Then we are charged the Australia tax because we have no choice.

if a Nissan dealer can finally sell their cars for the same price as japan, im sure they would be happy. it also means that they will give us models we couldn't not get before due to pressure of lost sales from the dealer groups.

i once spoke to a Nissan high up from japan through, we complained that we couldn't get certain models that that Australia should be looked after he response was this.

we can make our entire year of Australian delivered vehicle in one day, if the Australian market became to hard to deal with, we can just take a day off"

as a jap import consumer, its all sorts of giddy good news, but im honestly hoping, from an Australian industry point of view that it dosnt become damaging, because it has the potential to go either way. its defiantly going to cause some adjusting and i hope it does create a free'er more open, consumer driven market. but spare a thought for the businesses behind it which may get damaged.

Edited by GH05T