SAU Community

Rb Head Vs Jz Head

1jz head was designed by Yamaha and in my limited knowledge flows better than the RB25 head... but I am sure someone who knows abit more will give you some more specific flow rates

The 2JZ head is also desinged by Yamaha and flows better than a 1JZ by a fair margin. There was rumors going around that the 1JZ head was better but it has been proven to be bullshit.

http://www.supraforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=339560

I remember Sydneykid stating there is not much difference between a RB25 and RB26 head flow wise it the attachments that make the difference vavles etc.

Not sure if this helps but here is a comparison between a 1jz vs rb25 with the same turbo. The RB make a fair bit more power, and the curve does not drop off as much as the 1jz this may suggest that the RB flows better but im no expert on the matter.

HKS PRO-S comparison

cheers

The 1JZ has very conservative cams which would explain the drop off in high RPM performance. Just wind the boost right up and the 1JZ will take it and out power the RB25. 1JZ747 runs mid 10's in a cressida with a stock 1JZ with stock cams but high boost. It makes an insane power level but at a shockingly low RPM. So the turbo comparison doesn't really prove much. Also your link does not seem to work?

Edited by DennisRB30

I remember someone on here posting the different flowing heads of jap engines.

EVO engine had the best flowing head, with the RB26 being one of the worst.. doesn't stop it from making a crap load of power. I'd say its probably true about the 1JZ.

The 1JZ has very conservative cams which would explain the drop off in high RPM performance. Just wind the boost right up and the 1JZ will take it and out power the RB25. 1JZ747 runs mid 10's in a cressida with a stock 1JZ with stock cams but high boost. It makes an insane power level but at a shockingly low RPM. So the turbo comparison doesn't really prove much. Also your link does not seem to work?