SAU Community

Stock Bov, But Still Hearing Turbo Flutter

Trav33

I'm still fairly new to Skylines and turbos,... but have had the chance to buy a slidingperformance high-flow and install it.

I've been worried that i have been hearing "turbo flutter", which happens when your blow off valve is blocked off? But after reading this thread (see below), i'm thinking the noise might just be more evident because i have a high flow and pod filter.

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...howtopic=141983

These are photos from my engine bay, i dont know much about bov's, but it looks like i have the stock one?

Is there anyway to tell if my bov is not opening properly, and i am getting turbo flutter/compressor surge - or if the noise is occuring when the bov opens and recirculated air hits the turbo blades?

Hope i havent said anything too stupid above - correct me if im wrong!

post-20264-1166839861.jpg

how much of a flutter do you get? is it only 1 or 2 then it dumps normally? the reason i ask is that it looks like the bov has been squashed slightly (to raise the spring tension). if it does it once or twice then dumps then i'd say that is what it is.

the other thing you can do is remove the bit of rubber hose (the plumback bit) and make sure there isn't a plug of some sort in there.

I get a fair bit of flutter, under boost, its like 5 or 6 flutters - hard to count! i'll try and record the sound next drive. When i replaced the turbo, i didnt notice any blockage in the recirc pipe from the bov to the turbo inlet.

ive got the stock airbox/bov and a hks 2535 and i also get a soft flutter noise when im under like 5psi or so.. anything over and the bov seems to function normaly. didnt happen at all with the stock turbo

Put the stanard airbox and airfilter back in mate, you wont here it anymore.