R33 Gts-t Auto Vs Manual

lets just say you barely drove the car if you didnt get over 50...! i got a s1 auto, microtech, catback, split dump and pod filter 171rwkw, and it well and truely toasts 265s in 2nd gear, and thats only playing with it, each to there own, i love my auto.. and i have a 400hp manual vl in the shed, love that too, its 2 different driving styles between manual or auto

then you need better tyres.

• Replies 118

auto or manual at 171kw you shouldn't be frying 265s. you might spin them or chirp them but not fry them. and just cause they are new doesn't mean they are good. and cheap falkens are crap.

or you suspension setup might not be that good for traction.

oh you mean when it clicks up into second while doing a skid? yeah thats nothing special.

another reason why manuals acelerate quicker is that that have shorter ratios. shorter ratios accelerate quicker, but you just have to change gears a bit sooner. that is probably how you guys with the autos can be as quick of quicker than the manuals, since they have to change into 4th, but if you got to a point where yours had to change then you would be slower. that is a reason why the manual commodores are quicker to 100kmh that the falcons but slower over the 1/4. the commodores can do just over 100kmh in second but the falcons have to use 3rd, but over the 1/4 they are both in 4th gear.

and another thing about the auto gear changes. the ferrari auto boxes only change as fast as a manual. the old ones were slower. some guys driving them in the GT Production series were trying to get manual ones cause the auto change was slower than the manual.

oh you mean when it clicks up into second while doing a skid? yeah thats nothing special.

another reason why manuals acelerate quicker is that that have shorter ratios. shorter ratios accelerate quicker, but you just have to change gears a bit sooner. that is probably how you guys with the autos can be as quick of quicker than the manuals

nothing special huh.

so can you do a burnout in third with your manual with less then 200kws?

i think you should read the crap that your dribbling before you hit "add reply".

worded very poorly.

nothing special huh.

no, nothing special. my old vx commodore could spin a pair of 245's in second and it was a stock v6. and my mates stock 5.0L vn wagon will fry the tyres in 3rd at 130kmh.

so can you do a burnout in third

why 3rd? second in an auto isn't equal to third in a manual. but with 200rwkw i could do a skid on the spot starting in 2nd, and then click it up to 3rd. or i could go along at about 40kmh in second, heel/toe the brake and the accelerator and kick the clutch and get the tyres frying then grab 3rd. hell even the missus has had her pulsar bagging up 3rd gear (it's amazing what women can do when you piss them off enough)

I'm on boost in the manual by around 15-20km/h (not full boost, but making boost)

The auto you can have boosting easily on the spot if you know how

you can also get a manual to be on boost on the spot if you know how too. you load it up on the handbrake.

The default speed-limit applying to a driver for a length of road in a built-up area is 60 kilometres per hour.

probably cost about 2k. trying to find a cheap manual box is hard. most wreckers want about $1300 for one. then you have to get a pedal box, tailshaft, clutch, flywheel (all dependent on how much you get with the box)

Couldnt imagine driving an auto again....learn to drive in one, first car was auto and id never go back....

i'm in the same boat.. at the start i was just too lazy to get a manual license.. now i regret waiting so long ..

Gotta love the try hards in their low powered GTSt's claiming they are gods gift to racing and knowing all about performance and driving.

So my credentials: 22 years motor racing in rally, formula ford, sports sedans, more rally, sprints yadayadayada. I teach people to drive, both defensive and offensive and Tanks and Heavy double articulated and Wreckers. I'm a mechanic and an Engineer (weapons specialisation but also for a couple of V8SC teams). I own a GTS25t race car running a 26/30 engine, a 500hp GTR and I just sold a GTS25t Auto. I am pretty certain I can drive OK and know what it takes to make a car go hard. I am not some unknown from Gympie that the other liner owners have never noticed :rofl: (Hell yeah mad082, PSI has never seen you at one of their skidpan events, he claims to not ever see you)

So my second favourite car in the stable, even though it was hard to appreciate it in 5 cars with varying applications was the auto. My wife drove it easily, it chirped second and if I wasn't a dedicated trackie it would have been a great performer to tackle the strip. The box can handle 300rwkw as Dangerman has demonstrated and you only ever get from a car what you put into it.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with owning an auto. The only reason I sold mine was to get an auto XR8 ute to tow my half cabin 18ft boat and the wife made that decision. She decided to keep the V8 Soarer until her 350GT is purchased. BTW it will also be an auto. CVT8 if you can work that out.

So for the diehard manual guys........post some laptimes at race tracks. I'd suggest a decent steerer would waste you in an auto with less power. If you aren't tackling a race track regularly and claim you are a great driver you are just playing with yourselves and being the usual street racer wankers.

And mad082, I'm calling you out in particular. We have a racetrack down here. Feel free to turn up. Basically sunshine...put up or shut up... or stay in whoretown and continue pretending. I'm taking the 26/30 out for shakedown next Thurs and I'm sure Paul has spots free so put your hand up.

(Hell yeah mad082, PSI has never seen you at one of their skidpan events, he claims to not ever see you)

that's cause i have never been to one of his events (never entered one atleast). i go to the cooloola car club motorkanas, which i never see him at, infact i never even see him out on the road. the reason i don't go to his events is that they are on a saturday and i work saturdays. i have been out and watched some of them after work though. plus i haven't owned my skyline since january this year.

And mad082, I'm calling you out in particular. We have a racetrack down here. Feel free to turn up. Basically sunshine...put up or shut up... or stay in whoretown and continue pretending. I'm taking the 26/30 out for shakedown next Thurs and I'm sure Paul has spots free so put your hand up.

i've been down to willowbank and put my current car down. but it isn't a racetrack monster. it is a fwd magna, so there is no point putting it round a track. plus i don't have a spare $100 to pay for fuel and entry.

and when did i say i was some crash hot racer? i just said i could do a skid. it isn't rocket science. look at all the bogans in commodores that do it. if even they can do it it can't be that hard.

Stick to your Magna then mate. I don't think you are in much of any sort of position to tell people whether an auto Skyline rates or not. As for tracking a car, it doesn't matter what you have, you can still get it out there. I done sprints in little Lasers and Corollas just for the hell of it. Plenty of guys track their "crappo" auto Skylines too and do just fine too so a Magna would be nothing out of the ordinary. I've even seen V8 Soarers at Phillip Island doing times some of the Skylines were.

Auto Skylines are seriously underrated........ but usually by the people with no track time to speak of. If you think you are using your Manual car to its potential on the roads you either have little idea of performance or you need to be locked up. The track is the only place to know.

Lighting the bags is either as a result of decent power, or in most cases a combination of crap tyres and even worse suspension setup.