SAU Community

Stagea Clunks Loud In The Front End

oscillo hero

hi im new the site so please bare with me as i cant find any info on the topic yet. i got a 97 rs4 stagea and when i do a slow u turn the front of the car clunks and shudders in sync with one rotation of the tyre. im new to mechanics and dont know where to start. the clunk is worse in 4wd or when reversing. it shakes the whole car a bit and can be felt through the steering wheel. while driving straight or doing a standard corner its fine and is quiet as a mouse.

Welcome Patrick,

Probably best to have someone look at it if you are not used to playing down below, could be a few things, CV, tie rods etc. Maybe go for one of those free 'safety checks', then get back to us with results.

Welcome Patrick,

Probably best to have someone look at it if you are not used to playing down below, could be a few things, CV, tie rods etc. Maybe go for one of those free 'safety checks', then get back to us with results.

I agree safety check is the way to go, but don't let them do the work unless your cashed up :(

Hi and welcome

If it is a heavy metal clunk and only there when on full lock I would put money on it being a CV joint. If you are not any good with spanners and things mechanical then it might be best left up to a mechanic to replace.

Phil

Mine used to do that too.

But only if I was in 50:50 mode. And only when I turned sharply slowly.

I dunno why but for some reason I thought it was normal.

Maybe someone told me it was. It was a few years ago so I cant really remember.

How often are you you using your 4wd lock button ? unless you have some serious slip situations, such as its snowing there or you live on the side of a grass mountain, not wise to use it. It will quickly destroy itself on hard surfaces.