SAU Community

Has Anyone Had Any Sucess With Chinese Wastegates ?

I'd steer clear man.

Some Chinese parts are okay, like downpipes and whatnot, but I wouldn't put my faith in something mechanical that could fail easily and trash your engine.

Just my point of view.

ive been using one for over 2 years now no problem. holds what ever boost i want it to (14psi and up). Just lap the valve into the seat to give it a decent seal and have had no dramas

the jjr ones look like a straight copy of the HKS units, I looked at 'em, but found a s/h HKS unit that I rebuilt - it was a bit more expensive than a chinese knock off, but it was worth it [and it was way cheaper than a new HKS one].

Tial and such aren't that expensive anyway, your only saving a $100-200 total.

We used one of the Just Jap 50mm gates on an SR20 with a 3071R 0.63. Holds boost mint together with e AVC-R, havent had any dramas so far, been running for bout 6 months.

You may get a result, but its consistency you want.

CHEAP-FAST-RELIABLE <- you can only have 2.

If its cheap, might go fast but wont be reliable.

If is fast and reliable, it wont be cheap

so on

Spoken like a true salesman of expensive parts :ermm:

I also run 50mm HKS Copy chinese gate from the states and it works perfect. 14psi spring with boost controller i run 20psi no creep constant strong boost to redline.. thats been on nearly a year now without a drama.Its not rocket science in design seriousily.

Edited by l0WRB

I had a faulty one on a SR20 running a T70. one of the grub screws that hold the valve into the diaphram hat fell out and was leaking manifold pressure like an internal bleed valve. The result was the first time I held the car on full load the boost short past 25lb. It was very exciting for about 1 second till luckily a hose blew off and it save it all from certain death.