SAU Community

Boost Gauge Reading Wrong?

Hey guys need your help, Bare with me im new at this. I bought an R33 GTST about a week ago. Since then ive bought a Drifft Iridium boost gauge to install all went well with the electrical wiring im handy with that stuff. Now over to the engine bay. My car already had a boost gauge fitted to it by the previous owner but he removed it. I thought id just attatch the metter to where it used to be from the old owner to get it to run.. An sucssess it lite up. I was happy with it. Now here is where the problem lies. Just 2 things.

1. On my boost gauge it reads Negative 16 (-16) on idle is that normal??

2. I took it out for a test run and felt the car splutter and sound like it wants to stall. Now i know i have a coilpack problem im waiting for a new 1 to arrive. Prior to the new gauge id get a bit of a miss at 4500rpm . Though Since i installed the new gauge and have it hooked up the problem feels more severe.

as soon as i take the vacume hose off the aftermarket gauge it returns to normal. Have i hooked up the meter incorectly?? ive never done this bfor and thought id give it a shot since i already had the t piece and followed the disconected hose. PLZ help

kool ill give it a shot was hoping that i didnt conect it wrong lol well i didnt conect it at all lol last owner did. Just to be clear on it the set up on my RB is like this... I have a vacume hose coming out of the plenium which is then hooked up to the T Piece. From the bottom of the T piece i have another hose running to the BOV then from the otherside of the T piece i have a hose running to my Boost gauge

kool on another note what should the boost be reading on idle?? -7 like the stock gauge? and what size hosses should i run? i may have to replace t piece as the hosses that link up to it from the previouse owner are quite large compared to the little gold fitting i got for my boost gauge