Your Hiway Patrol

MELV

Thanks for reading,

i got myself in a bit of trouble in your terrotory tonight. i live on the goldcoast and went for a drive down into NSW land drove for about 1 hr till i thought well i know there are no cops lets turn around and have a go. as i was merging onto the hiway i gave it a little then droped back to 110 (speed limit) and within about 10min saw a car flying behind me i wasnt speeding or anything at this time but i pulled over and got handed this ticket.

i was wondering if anyone would make sence from it ? as i have never seen one of these NSW issed ones.

its on white paper and the title is

New South Wales Police

RADAR/LIDAR PENALITY NOTICE.

and the only other thing on the paper apart form my licence and car info is

the penality of $565

does anyone know how many points this is ? and wil the points be taken from my QLD issued licence ? or will it take a fair while to take place as its a interstate issue ?

any info would b great CHEARS

(MELV)

yeah brother you in a little trouble there, points will be deducted quite quickly from your qld licence, not that all computers are linked in australia. from memory, 15 and under($180) is 2 demerit points, up from 1.

between15-30 is 3 points($ 380) and 30-45 is 6 points, and($565) plus 1 month suspension.

hope that helps, sorry man ive had a few of those befor..

Another vote for "not bad luck" here. Ya pays ya money and ya makes ya choice. Or in this case, ya makes ya choice and then ya pays ya money. You made the choice...

Only sure way to avoid speeding tickets is to NOT SPEED. Unless you live in Victoria of course, and then one of their dodgy cameras could probably give you a ticket even if you were parked.

Honestly, how many track days could you attend for $565.00?

p.s. Not saying that I never speed, but if I do and get a ticket it's nobody's fault but mine.

23 years old. Owns a GTR. Lost licence twice already. Still on P's from previous licence suspension (I assume). Then goes and does it again... Amazing.

We all speed now and again, but the smarter people with more evolved brains don't speed at such speeds to risk losing their licence if they're caught... Obviously you haven't reached this stage of evolution yet... 30-45 over in a 110 zone sometimes isn't that stupid, but why would you risk it? $565 would get you to 3-4 trackdays where you can go as fast as you want with no risk of licence loss... Not exactly a hard choice is it?

They should have much harsher penalties for repeat offenders (read: morons who don't learn) like multiple year suspensions and community service.

Can I ask why the hell you thought to come down to NSW to do this?

actully the other two time i have lost licence were from defective car.

when i was younder i used to have a vt coomodre too low(twice), too loud, Neons There goes 1 licence

second time was

speeding 70 in a 60 zone, deficed for white wiper blades, deficed for blue tint to head lights.

so i sold that car it was just trouble

bought a holden VXSSV8 and never got picked up the car was in street commodores used to take it to willowbank and qld raceway. got the bug for speed

sold the car

bought a GTR from japan that will kick arse at QLD RACEWAY.

had the car 2 months. just got booked last nite for doing 145 merging onto a hiway.

no big drama guys lets not drill me and everyone telling me how to drive. thats not fair.

merli : Can I ask why the hell you thought to come down to NSW to do this?

because i was driving to byron bay and on the way back i guess i over did it mergin on the hiway.

the reson for the post was to ask how many points will b lost.

thanks for the help

thanks for the info mate

dont think that will apply with my qld licence.

up here u only get issued that if you go 60kms over the speed limit

or if you get cought drag racing down the hiway

or cought for being a hastle to the police

1st time car taken off you for 48 hours

2nd time car taken off you for 3 months

3rd time car taken off you for 6 months

anymore car is just taken and never returned

heh come one guys, am i the only one who hasw thought "i paid for every km marked on this speedo, i want my moneys worth.... lets av a go!"? Luckily i only ever lost my license one when i was on my p's (help off paying the fine till i got my blacks so i had a few more points to play with....) got suspended for 3 months then probationary for a year after.... was worth it tho.... 165 in an old 89 excel, never thought i'd see it never mind do it, i was waiting for scotty to pop up in the back seat and say "she cannae do'i capin' she noo hav tha powa!".

But back to earth, we all speed to some extent from another, i think that what can really be learnt from this is that even at 1am coming on a freeway in a 110 zone, you can get nicked big time, so pull ya head in. We're all already cop bait, lets not let them justify it.

Just keep in mind that that spot of bad luck (ie the cop) could have been worse, far worse. its generally considered that 80km impact speed its almost always fatal, and i know a few who have turned up their toes from slower hits.

Bit of a mixed post this, but essentially, we all speed so instead of flaming him, just say "well duh, thats what the tracks for". And instead of saying "bummer fine" think "thankgod no deaths".... then move on to "bugger he caught up with me".

Just my 5 rupees.

M

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cop : didnt you see that stop sign back there??

Driver: oh yeah i saw that, i just didnt see you

james, put ur car in ur mums name - wont be taken from u then

i know heaps of ppl that do this and the cops get pretty annoyed cos they cant take the car

unless its a 3rd repeat offence on that vehicle - then they can

Don't you have to pay 7% stamp duty to transfer ownership like that?

actully the other two time i have lost licence were from defective car.

when i was younder i used to have a vt coomodre too low(twice), too loud, Neons There goes 1 licence

second time was

speeding 70 in a 60 zone, deficed for white wiper blades, deficed for blue tint to head lights.

Do we lose points off our licence for defects in NSW too? That seems pretty ridiculous to me... How does having a defective car have any bearing on whether or not you're fit to drive a motor vehicle?

How does having a defective car have any bearing on whether or not you're fit to drive a motor vehicle?

Since when have the NSWPF given a sh1t about logic?

Oh and Stamp Duty is typically 3%.

Adrian

MERLI : MAN give it a break ! ! !

i have always said to stupid posts of ppl complaining about the police.dont break the law and the law want get you.

I AM NOT COMPLAINING !!!!! i know i was speeding. i got to pay $565 WOW isnt that great. i accept it all alrite. i have never judged you or anyone else on there driving so DONT DO IT TO ME !! just chill buddy. i get the impression your having a go at me ?

i only wanted to know how your system works because the ticket that was issed is totaly diffrent to QLD ones.

and i dont need to change the rego its in my compay name anyway.

chears

MERLI : MAN give it a break ! ! !  

i have always said to stupid posts of ppl complaining about the police.dont break the law and the law want get you.

I AM NOT COMPLAINING !!!!! i know i was speeding. i got to pay $565 WOW isnt that great. i accept it all alrite. i have never judged you or anyone else on there driving so DONT DO IT TO ME !! just chill buddy. i get the impression your having a go at me ?

i only wanted to know how your system works because the ticket that was issed is totaly diffrent to QLD ones.

and i dont need to change the rego its in my compay name anyway.

chears

Ummmmmm... Actually my last post was in your defence, if you actually bothered to read it properly. :)

Since when have the NSWPF given a sh1t about logic?

Oh and Stamp Duty is typically 3%.

Adrian

Ahhh yes, you're right... Dunno where I pulled 7% from!