SAU Community

after some turbo info

JiVE

Has anyone got a website handy that explains all about, Timers, BOV, FMIC etc.

I'm new to Skylines and turbo..... and well we all gotta learn sometime.

Normally i'd search for an answer to this question no doubt its been asked before, but have you ever tried to search for 'turbo' on this forum you get like 3000 results, heh.

Hmm, well I dont know about any websites. Have you tried a search engine, like google?

I can try and help a bit here if you like, as I know the frustration at typing common words.

Turbo timers - delays the engine switching off after you turn off the ignition. This is to allow the turbo to cool down. If it doesnt cool properly, the heat in the turbo can cook the oil in it, this is sometimes reffered to as 'coking'. the oil being coked on the inside of the turbo catridge can cause it to seize, thus the turbo will cease to work and need rebuilding.

the cartridge is where the bearings are between the compressor (inlet side) and turbine (exhaust side), and has a shaft through it mounted on bearings that allows the turbo to spin

Two main types of turbo timer, manual, where you set how long the car should idle for, or automatic, where the timer calculates how long to keep the engine running. Usually an auto timer will allow manual operation as well if desired.

BOV - when a turbo is making boost (positive pressure, so the air is compressed) and you take your foot off the throttle, the compressed air cannot move into the plenum (the plenum is after the throttle body, and distributes the air via 'runners' to the cylinders). A BOV will allow that air to be returned infront of the turbo or to atmosphere.