SAU Community

R34 Head Unit

Grey

Hey everyone!

Just bought my R34 and drove away with it, when I got home I started playing around with the headunit, now I'm not sure if the headunit comprises of the radio, TV, CD player etc, but these things aren't working (I didn't realize before I bought the car). The radio has a narrow frequency up to 90khz on FM. I've read the stick to install that thing that increases the range, how hard will it be to install? OR should I just get a new headunit as in replace everything with a new aussie radio, a new working CD player and a new screen? To be honest I don't know if there's a screen, because I pressed TV open button, nothing opens, so maybe theres no screen?

In addition, I put my CD into the cd player, it slowly sucked it in, no music, just a bit of loading sound and nothing happened. I pressed eject, nothing came out, so the CD-player pretty much ate my CD up. How would I fix these ANNOYING problems, I mean, I know nothing about cars, I've built computers etc. but how hard would installing a new headunit including the radio and CD-player be?

Really desperate for some advice / help....

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Just get a new Deck. All the skylines i have had in the past had shitty Headunits. they never played any cds.

U can get a nice new headunit for a good price these days, and buy a harness(cheap) to connect the Aftermarket headunit cables to the factory headunit cables. Done. very very easy.

so yu have a GTV. that had the navi option and they don't work. I have a drop in screen and all the hardware to sort it but it comes at a 4 figure cost.

pop a pic of you dash up so I can tell if we are talking about the same thing.