SAU Community

Sub And Amp

hey all!

just a quick question !

i got this 12"sub http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_subs.php?series_id=16 (on the left colum) and i am just wondering if this amp would be powerful enough http://www.lifestylestore.com.au/products/car/Sony/2-Channel-Amplifiers/XMZR602/ or should i get some more powerful ? im just looking to wire up my sub and my front speaker.

if anyone have any advice of amps please help me out. or if you have one for sale would b goood too.

(looking at around $100 to $200)

thank you!

i am no expert so someone can confirm my limited knowledge but i thought u would need a 4 channel amp to run the subs and the front speakers, unless the front speakers are run off the head deck, then this might be ok to power the sub. someone who knows there stuff should be able to confirm

more power then that, you would be disapointed and sony isn't my first choice in amps or even in top 20 choices

the sub needs about 300watts RMS but more is better then less. to a point that is,and get a proper box for it. not generic if possible.

a 2 channel amp like this can run the whole car with the right passive crossovers installed. and proper ohm loads but the power is meager at best.

hate to say it but import a amp from usa is a huge cost saver right now. even with shipping. just select a good one cause the warranty will most likely be void here.

I'd look for something name brand , 4 channel, 150 a channel at 4 ohms , you can do a ton of ways to set it up depending on what your goals are and how loud you want it. ?

Edited by sapphiregraphics

well my goal is simple just that sub i got and some front speakers.

can you please show me some amps for a good price around 150 to 200 dollars? (250 max)

thank you alot!

sony is crap. IMO get a 4 channel; 2 for your fronts (hopefully splits) and bridge the other 2 channels for the sub. Option audio make a good budget amp (that I have used) if you are going to buy locally.

Edited by sonnyQ