SAU Community

Difference between RB25DE and RB25DET

Hey guys,

Let me introduce myself. My name is Brett and I have just become the proud owner of a '98 R34 Skyline. As this is my first Skyline (or for that fact my first Nissan), I have very little knowledge about Nissan technologies, so I need your help.

Can someone tell me the difference between the RB25DE and the RB25DET engine (besides the obvious). I am looking to turbocharge the NEO 6 and was wondering whether parts of the DET would bolt onto the DE.

Also, has anyone turbocharged their R34. I would like to get as much information as I could regarding the matter (prices, parts, problems etc).

Thanks in advance

Brett

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

or alternativly, you could just purchase a bolt on turbo, but along with that theres alot of associated bits and pieces you need to get, and you'll prob find that it would end up being a more stressful and expensive procedure than just getting another r34 with a turbo.

It has a lot to do with A) how much will you lose on your car if you sell it B) The car you've got is a good example...why sell it to buy a questionable GT-t C) are you crazy enough to do it :P and D) do you like seeing people question the lack of factory gauges and say "but I can hear a turbo"

Seriously though...if you check the specs on the RB25DE Neo compared to the RB25DET Neo...you won't find much that the 2 don't share, even cams are almost the same unit 2ms exhaust duration seperate them both!

The R33 RB25DE and RB25DET are a whole new ballgame...different parts completely.

I found the whole process to be worth it in my eyes :D Luckily I've done all the hard work...and found out the hard way what needs to be done...so I can make it a fairly easy process if you decide to do it.

Dan

• 1 month later...