SAU Community

R34 Gt Engine Advice

Booted34

Hi all!

I'm new to SAU and was interested in some advice. I have a 34 sedan with GTT brakes and suspension fairly well sorted out. In the future I am planning an engine swap. What do people think of an Sr20 instead of rb25t. Why?

To save weight over the front end. To reduce overall weight. To give better power to weight ratio I am not interested in huge power, the car is a daily driver, of course I want more power than what I have.

I know they don't sound as good but I'm not to worried. As I drive on freeways a bit as well as windy roads I was thinking the s15 6 speed. I know its not strong but as I said I am not interested in big power just a nice balanced drive. Any advice is greatly appreciated thanks!

just stick with the rb25. while the sr20 is a decent motor, it is lacking in torque compared to the rb25. the weight difference isn't that much when you look at power to weight ratios of the entire car. cost wise it's probably a lot cheaper to use the rb25, and i dare say a lot easier to do the conversion. using the 6 speed would also result in you having to change gears more often than the 5 speed, and when sitting on the highway the actual revs it sits on at the speed limit won't be that much different.

Thanks mate! I appreciate your advice. In case you're wondering i was thinking that i would have much more power and tourque than what i currently have with a sr20. You made a good point about trying to keep the conversion simple though. Maybe I should stick with an rb. As for the gearbox I don't mind changing gears and because of the gearing on the car I find myself looking for 6 th often. I guess you can change the diff ratio but then I could miss acceleration. I am thinking of fuel economy too. I thought maybe a vq35 6 speed with the RB? Thanks again!