SAU Community

What Tyre Size For Staggered Rims On R32 Gtr

Hey guys, I recently bought some 17x9 and 17x8 +20 BBS LM's for my R32 GTR. The rears have brand new 235/40/R17 Luccini's on them, but the fronts have some shagged 215/45/R17 (not sure of profile couldn't be bothered getting out of bed to double check). I need to replace the fronts, but don't know what size is ideal to run with the GTR as I know people generally run identical tyre size across AWD's.

Any help is much appreciated, as I am a AWD noob.

Thanks guys

Sell the rims, or sell the GTR. You shouldn't run staggered rims, let alone different tyre profiles... unless you want to convert your GTR to permanent RWD by destroying the transfer case.

Sell the rims, or sell the GTR. You shouldn't run staggered rims, let alone different tyre profiles... unless you want to convert your GTR to permanent RWD by destroying the transfer case.

Can anyone confirm staggered rim size with matching profiles will cause issues? From what i have read on here as long and the rolling diameter is within a couple of percentage points it will be fine. I have run staggered rims with matching series rubber with no issues (17x8.5, 17x9.5), attessa behaves fine only seems to activate when slip occurs.

Edited by ima_slap_joO

From memory, even %1 rolling diameter difference is enough to cause ATTESSA to put a small ammount of power to the front wheels full time, this will cook the clutch packs in the transfer case in time. Even having the exact same rims front and back, with the exact same tyres but only tread depeth difference is still enough to make the ATTESSA think there is fulltime wheel spin.

They were previously run on an Evo VIII so I figured if using the right tyre sizes it should be okay. Am I completely wrong?

Lancers have a totally different AWD system. They are constant AWD - FWD + feed some power to the rear wheels. ATTESSA is an intelligent AWD - RWD, and feeds power to the front when necessary.