Jdm Double Din - Tv + Subwoofers + Door Speakers

I've been doing a bit of research about sound and i have come to the conclusion that sound is going to be my next upgrade -

I have got pricing for the JDM double din dash at around $350-400 delivered.

I'm looking at putting in a pioneer 7'' LCD touch screen - http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/PIONEER-AVH-P4400BH-7-Double-Din-Touch-Screen-DVD-Reciever-Car-Radio-2012-/120978512046?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c2ae198ae

But my main question is what door speakers + sub(s) would be suited for this head unit and AMP? I don't know a lot about sound so this would all have to be professionally fitted but i don't really want to take my car to the local Autobarn..

My drivers side door speaker has stopped working and the passenger door speaker is crappy too and i really miss listening to music so i want to get this sorted in the next 2 months - I have a budget of around $2,000 excluding the JDM dash.

Not the most educated topic as i don't know a lot about this subject so please only constructive criticism would be appreciated. I am merely looking for some ideas from fellow V35 owners that have done this swap and obviously what has really great sound!

Thanks.

Yeah i know, i messaged chris a little while ago with no reply he must be busy.

That LCD screen has bluetooth-

• Bluetooth/iPod/Apps/SD Card/USB

• Bluetooth: Built-In (HFP/A2DP/AVRCP/SSP)

Edited by Seano350GT

It is pretty damn good for a factory system but everyone's tastes are different, which is why I'm changing the speakers in my set up and adding a couple amps along with a JBL MS-8 DSP and a subwoofer in my '09. The headunit itself is fine, though I wish it supported FLAC files. I'll live with using my Sony ATRAC walkman plugged into the auxiliary input instead.

It's hard to suggest to someone what they should do for speakers though because perception is a very unique thing and while my tastes result in more expensive speakers (Boston Acoustic ProSeries in the rear from my Maxima and recently purchased Boston Acoustic SPZ series in the front), that may be excessive to someone else.

Your best bet is to trust your ears. The only honest advice I believe one can give is to the reliability and, to some extent, the technical merits of the speakers.

Of course, it's hard to trust your ears in a showroom where it's not the interior of a car, particularly with all the different cars out there but with a little effort, you can and will land what you want.

As far as brands go, I've been a long time fan of Boston Acoustic for their accuracy and power handling. As alternatives, Focal are very accurate, JBL are pretty decent, JL's C5 and ZR series are quite nice too. Again, to my ears.

There are people who will swear by Pioneer, Kenwood, Alpine, Polk, etc. All are technically decent and well made but beyond that, you really need to hear them for yourself.

I haven't really covered the broad range of speakers out there so I wouldn't know what the other manufacturers are doing in terms of materials but you want to be sure that with a harsh environment that cars are, you'd want something that can handle sitting in the hot sun all day too. Good butyl-rubber (or similar) surrounds and tough Kevlar (or similar) cones are vital for the longevity of the speaker but of course, they must also be carefully selected and implemented so that they don't colour the sound in a bad way either.

Since you're not putting in a beefier amp, I'm guessing you're looking for a sub that will replace the existing one in the parcel tray? If so, you'd need to do some homework on this because you're limiting yourself to what would essentially be just free-air subs. Using any other kind of sub without its intended enclosure would prove to be a waste of money. Pioneer have had a long history of reasonable free-air subs so you can probably take a listen to some of those.

One thing to be really careful with though is the temptation of cranking them louder and louder as your hunger for power grows. The key is to power your speakers clean. Just because you're running a speaker rated at 100WRMS doesn't mean you can run your 18WRMS stereo full-tilt. When driven hard, an amp will begin to clip and that clipping is audible distortion. It is also raw DC power which will eventually fry the coil. No speaker coil likes DC power and that's the main reason why a majority of speakers blow.

Edited by The Max

u must have got a non-premium ver. i reckon the Bose audio is awesome for a stock factory

I didn't mention i HAVE the premium version with BOSE audio.

It is pretty damn good for a factory system but everyone's tastes are different, which is why I'm changing the speakers in my set up and adding a couple amps along with a JBL MS-8 DSP and a subwoofer in my '09. The headunit itself is fine, though I wish it supported FLAC files. I'll live with using my Sony ATRAC walkman plugged into the auxiliary input instead.

It's hard to suggest to someone what they should do for speakers though because perception is a very unique thing and while my tastes result in more expensive speakers (Boston Acoustic ProSeries in the rear from my Maxima and recently purchased Boston Acoustic SPZ series in the front), that may be excessive to someone else.

Your best bet is to trust your ears. The only honest advice I believe one can give is to the reliability and, to some extent, the technical merits of the speakers.

Of course, it's hard to trust your ears in a showroom where it's not the interior of a car, particularly with all the different cars out there but with a little effort, you can and will land what you want.

As far as brands go, I've been a long time fan of Boston Acoustic for their accuracy and power handling. As alternatives, Focal are very accurate, JBL are pretty decent, JL's C5 and ZR series are quite nice too. Again, to my ears.

There are people who will swear by Pioneer, Kenwood, Alpine, Polk, etc. All are technically decent and well made but beyond that, you really need to hear them for yourself.

I haven't really covered the broad range of speakers out there so I wouldn't know what the other manufacturers are doing in terms of materials but you want to be sure that with a harsh environment that cars are, you'd want something that can handle sitting in the hot sun all day too. Good butyl-rubber (or similar) surrounds and tough Kevlar (or similar) cones are vital for the longevity of the speaker but of course, they must also be carefully selected and implemented so that they don't colour the sound in a bad way either.

Since you're not putting in a beefier amp, I'm guessing you're looking for a sub that will replace the existing one in the parcel tray? If so, you'd need to do some homework on this because you're limiting yourself to what would essentially be just free-air subs. Using any other kind of sub without its intended enclosure would prove to be a waste of money. Pioneer have had a long history of reasonable free-air subs so you can probably take a listen to some of those.

One thing to be really careful with though is the temptation of cranking them louder and louder as your hunger for power grows. The key is to power your speakers clean. Just because you're running a speaker rated at 100WRMS doesn't mean you can run your 18WRMS stereo full-tilt. When driven hard, an amp will begin to clip and that clipping is audible distortion. It is also raw DC power which will eventually fry the coil. No speaker coil likes DC power and that's the main reason why a majority of speakers blow.

Thanks a lot for the help, i have spoken to a few mates about what they think and it seems to be Pioneer winning the race at the moment but i do like the sound of the head unit i mentioned in my OP. I'm not one of those P platers that drive around with the doors and windows shaking with bass. I listen to a lot of hard bass electro and hardstyle so i really do want quality speakers that aren't going to shit themselves with a bit of bass.

I am a big fan of the OEM BOSE unit, the only problem is that my door speakers are f*cked so it sounds horrible. I would rather replace the whole setup than spend $300 on just door speakers.

Done a little more research today on head units, leaning towards this 7'' Pioneer - http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/360484341820?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2648

Heard very good reviews from 3 owners of this unit and they love it very user friendly and packed with features.

Now i just need to determine which subwoofer(s) i got with and speakers, then the hardest part.. finding someone in this town to fit it for me!

Done a little more research today on head units, leaning towards this 7'' Pioneer - http://www.ebay.com....984.m1423.l2648

Heard very good reviews from 3 owners of this unit and they love it very user friendly and packed with features.

Now i just need to determine which subwoofer(s) i got with and speakers, then the hardest part.. finding someone in this town to fit it for me!

That price for that head unit = awesome!!

Edit: Can radios from the US work with australian radio frequencies?

Edited by Tony350

I know hey! I was definitely expecting to pay around $1000 for a good quality screen but that's a huge relief. Tony what's your knowledge like with sound?

I listen to good music. Have installed systems in the past.

Is that a nice way of saying i listen to shit music? :(

I see, would you know how difficult it would be for someone to remove the BOSE system and install a new one? As in x amount of hours labour.

I listen to a lot of hard bass electro and hardstyle so i really do want quality speakers that aren't going to shit themselves with a bit of bass.

^ from a previos post. I love trance too! :D

That's pretty good, i was hoping it wasn't going to be a massive 6 hour+ job because apparently people are scared of BOSE..

It's enough for them to drive the price up. Stop being a princess and just drive down here. I'll meet you half way (at Grange :P)

Here's another model with builtin nav for an extra hundy - http://www.ebay.com....#ht_3745wt_1186

Just saw your post regarding trance. Heck YES! Are you on Spotify?

Edited by Tony350

I will probably have to take it to a shop down there to get it fitted if there's no one up here haha.

Where the f*ck is Grange?

Damn, saved that badboy to my watch list as well!

Haha nope, what's that?

Grange is a suburb just north of brisbane cbd

spotify is how you bring social media to your music collection. Can share albums and playlists with friends via fb and what not.

Edit: Can also live stream a very large number of tracks. Has heaps of songs etc. Look it up

Edited by Tony350

Grange is a suburb just north of brisbane cbd

spotify is how you bring social media to your music collection. Can share albums and playlists with friends via fb and what not.

Edit: Can also live stream a very large number of tracks. Has heaps of songs etc. Look it up

I see, sounds like a pretty dodgy area aha. I have noticed friends on fb using it but i haven't been bothered i usually just use youtube downloader to steal music off youtube and convert it to mp3..

Edit: Can radios from the US work with australian radio frequencies?

Absolutely. Their AM/FM radios cover the same range as ours.

Edit: (had to add in the "AM/FM" so nobody would think I was talking about XM radio, heheh)

Edited by The Max

Absolutely. Their AM/FM radios cover the same range as ours.

Edit: (had to add in the "AM/FM" so nobody would think I was talking about XM radio, heheh)

X rated radio? Sorry mate, need the visual. :P

Chris is currently in the middle of setting up his new shop, probably got something to do with the lack of reply :P

And he can remove the headunit in give or take 15 minutes i think he had mine out?? but about an hour all up for swap over of a/c controls and install of new unit when he did my 300GT sedan.

Still got the stock BOSE unit from it if anyone is interested.