Shoota's R33 GT-R RB30/26

Just read the whole build thread, love the attention to detail you give each aspect, those coatings are porn, id get an extra piston done just to sit on my desk and admire ... lol :D

Ha ha thanks Mark, if each piston didn't cost around $250 each I probably would! They do look pretty awesome, it's gunna be a shame to lock them away and toast the fark out of them!

Marcus- mate i thought I would be boosting by now too but ah well, good things come to those who wait! It'll be all worth it in the end. Not sure when the end will be but whenever it is, it'll be awesome!

Ok, if my last month worth of purchases don't motivate me I'm in big trouble!!

So the tax fairy arrived and delivered some nice stuff...

DSC_0090.jpg

Dual Wideband kit with display

DSC_0091.jpg

DSC_0092.jpg

DSC_0093.jpg

A huge thanks go out to Brad Sherrif of Boost Automotive in Tassie for the Haltech goodies, absolute top bloke to deal with and a huge wealth of knowledge of all things Skyline. This is his awesome R32 GT-R in action-

Balls of steel! it's running a paddle shifted Hollinger which is pretty nuts!

I've also booked in to attend the Haltech Elite ECU training course which I'm pumped to do, it should be awesome!

The last few weeks I've been building shed MKII which is the garden shed to get my lawn tractor and mowers and other shit out of my man cave/car shed. It's coming along nicely-

DSC_0076.jpg

DSC_0082.jpg

On the engine rebuild front I've decided to go back to an internal oil pickup as opposed to how the Tomei oil pump I bought was setup so I'm getting the pump welded up and redrilled to suit.

Things are finally starting to come together slowly... Once the warmer months arrive hopefully I'll put in some decent nights out in the shed getting shit done.

I've stripped the engine back down again and then rust treated my rusty block with a rust converter. Then using a softish die grinder pad taken the remaining surface rust off the face. It's come up nice so I'm not as scared as I was now that it's all sorted. It was stressing me out!

I've still got a never ending list of jobs to do at home but hopefully the next 6 months will see me back on the road. There you I said it! I need to commit to it now.

Only time will tell if I'm full of shit! Wish me luck!

Edited by Shoota_77

Was on the edge of my seat watching that video! Balls like balls you've never seen before!

Good stuff on keeping the build alive! Will be back here in the next 6 months to see what's up :P

Was on the edge of my seat watching that video! Balls like balls you've never seen before!

Good stuff on keeping the build alive! Will be back here in the next 6 months to see what's up :P

Yeah it's pretty impressive driving!

Hopefully there will actually be something for you to look at in six months!

Surprisingly good Kyle. I was pretty stressed out that it was going to be bad but wasn't in the end. The rust treatment agent reduced it 50% and then I just finished it off with a softish (blue disc if you know your die grinder pads!) grinding disk. In an ideal world I wouldn't touch a freshly (well 18 months ago it was fresh!) machined deck but there was no option. I removed the oil gallery plugs and washed the whole engine out again so I can start all over again.....

Ah ok awesome!! Lucky there was no major damage and the blue discs are nice and soft!!!!

Im jealous of the elite also!! I did the course just after wtac last year, well worth it!! Just wish i could justify buying an elite to replace my platinum pro (for ease of tuning as im pretty slack hahaha)

Made some progress again which unfortunately only gets me back to where I was 18 months ago!

Got the bottom end re-assembled. Hopefully this time I can keep enough momentum up to get it back in the car this time!

It was a long slow road to re-motivate myself. The first step was to roll the old girl out of the shed so she saw sunlight for the first time in 18 months and give her a bath. Next was actually putting away every tool in the shed that has been used over the last 6 months and never put away.... Then the shed got a full sweep out followed by a vacuuming and then the last step was to mop the floor so everything was ready to rock.

It seems to have worked, I'm quietly motivated this time which I'm hopeful is a good thing. I really want to get it finished now. One decent sized kick in the balls though and I reckon it'll be all over again so fingers crossed everything goes to plan!

DSC_0036.jpg

DSC_0104.jpg

DSC_0107.jpg

DSC_0108.jpg

DSC_0110.jpg

DSC_0121.jpg

DSC_0124.jpg

DSC_0129.jpg

Cheers Dan, I'm glad it made for good breakfast reading.

Peter- well spotted! I had a blond moment there for a bit! I put 4 in and then realised I'm a dipshit and had to pull them out again. Suffice to say I was pretty happy with myself at that point... It was about 11pm 6 beers in so I'll forgive myself for now..

Torqued up the big ends today so the fundamentals of the engine are done. Oil pump, rear main, etc etc next.

Also decided to clean up and paint a set of RB20 finned cam covers I had. Not 100% sure if I'll use them but they sure do look nice!

A little bit of the process-

Stripping the old paint off-

DSC_0177.jpg

DSC_0181.jpg

Cleaned and masked ready for paint.

DSC_0187.jpg

First coats of Wrinkle Black.

DSC_0190_1.jpg

Cooking process.

DSC_0189_1.jpg

Finished painting.

DSC_0194_1.jpg

DSC_0193_1.jpg

Decided to go with the part raw look on the top of the fins. Not entirely happy with the finish, it was a bit tricky to get it looking nice but it'll do!

DSC_0195_1.jpg

DSC_0197_1.jpg

DSC_0196.jpg

Also had a chance later tonight to cut out the window in the oil pump dust shield (or whatever the hell it's supposed to be!) for the Hi-Octane crank trigger kit-

DSC_0198_1.jpg

DSC_0199_1.jpg

Mounted the oil pump and timing gear so I could set the air gap for the GT101-

DSC_0201.jpg

DSC_0202.jpg

Hi Ewan, great thread. Like the way you put the words together, easy read for a novice :cheers:

Stuck in a hotel room at Cronulla with my girls sleeping, blowing and raining since daybreak and was good to have something to read,with pretty pics.

I must say for a tight arse you know how to spend $s on your ride, money well spent That shed would not come cheap, even if you did all of the work, great job.

Love the silver donk.

Did you paint your new CF bonnet white , I like ALL white Rs. I had a melt down and bought a Black one, one of many mistakes, lol

You look like having yours back on the road soon, Looking forward to see what you get out of it.

6'8" you would have your butt rubbing on the ground, I need a cushion to see over the steering wheel, haha

Thanks Pete, it must be easy to read due to my basic grasp of the English language!

Yeah you're probably right, I have spent a fair whack on this car now. Not that I've seen any joy out of those many $$$ yet!

Actually that's not true, I absolutely love this part of the whole process. I'm learning heaps as I go which is all part of the fun! Thank God for this extra long Christmas break, it's been awesome actually getting to spend some time on it while I'm motivated.

Yeah I love my shed, still running all power through an extension lead to the house though which is a pain in the arse!

I haven't painted the CF bonnet yet but most likely will,it's only a cheaply made CF over fibreglass bonnet but I like the style of it so will probably go with it or get an unmolested original alloy bonnet.

With the height issue the Skylines are actually bloody forgiving for a tall freak show like me, I feel very comfortable in it.

Hopefully a few more updates later.

It does not take long for the $s to go out of control, but I am sure you will get more than you had to pay , plus enjoy the build.

That is much more than a lot of us have got from the $s spent, lol

I am hoping to have mine back at the end of January and going 100%

Even for a small bloke the seating is good, when I had the Quad clutch I had to sit closer as it engaged just about from the bottom of the stroke, the new Coppermix comp twin it great and for me I can get away from the steering wheel as it engages later in the stroke , you will love it. I have not thrashed mine but it seems to go well with the extra torque of the 3.2, I think because it is more linear, but time will tell ??

Looking forward to your updates, enjoy the hols