{Wa} Shaun's R33 Gts-T Track Car Build

racegtst

So I did a PB on the short track of 56.4912.

Had a great night except for Practice where I wore a windscreen of someone else's petrol and blocking moves.

Run 3 I could not believe the guy was blocking me in a car that was more than 10 seconds slower and then the front guys miss counted laps and were on a cool down lap on lap 3.

Run 2 was fun but was a bit messy playing with a very quick Escort who was behind me.

any way vids:

Practice

Run 1

Run 2

Run 3

Edited by racegtst

Shaun,

What sort of terminal speeds are you getting down pit straight?

Richard

Not really sure as I have no speedo in the car at all these days. It used to be around 170 km/h but the car is now quicker so guess maybe 175 to 180.

Been a bit slack in updating this thread.

Preparation for the log book is moving along with the aim to be on the Street Car grid for the July 28 race meet.

Car went back to Racing Dynamics this week for a extra side intrusion bars. While it was there my mate painted a few of the panels so now the car is all the same color.

I have removed all stickers for the log book photos so will be calling Gav in the next few weeks to organise nice new stickers for the car.

now to the pics:

Cage

12_zps013f310d.jpg

13_zps2a659144.jpg

Put the car back together today, so I started with a collection of painted panels, so here goes. It was a nice leisurely afternoons work. Enjoyable!

Panels:

1_zpsda9b9637.jpg

Car

2_zps43c1dff5.jpg

3_zpsa63b2c0f.jpg

Boot and spoiler. From white to Silver.

4_zps6bc42a66.jpg

Bonnet. From Black to Silver.

5_zpsa03b3eec.jpg

6_zps738ddf7a.jpg

Left front guard. From Blue to Silver.

7_zpsa64214c8.jpg

8_zps9def6194.jpg

Front Bar back on

9_zpscff79000.jpg

10_zpsf19b2991.jpg

11_zps08d6360e.jpg

Thanks guys.

Update:

Good News - Passed log book and annual audit inspection and I received the log book in the mail yesterday morning.

Bad News - gearbox oil changes resulted in 3 synchro clips

Good News - new second hand gearbox going in, in a few weeks

Extra Good News - the stickers for the new look are expected to be applied later this week or early next week including racing numbers etc. I will update thread with pics

expected first race at Barbagallo is the 28th July 2013 meeting. Getting excited now.

Just run the box till it dies... never mind the synchro clips unless you can't get it into gear???

Mine has been crunching 4th since i bought the car..oil changed twice and bits and pieces found on both occasions...

redline smurf blood in and g/box still goin.. hahaha

PS what did you have to do for the annual audit??

ie lock wiring of sump plugs and the like??

at the last LF day at Barbs when my car went over scrutineering i got asked why mine didn't have all this lock wiring done???

Got a good box for a good price, I did not want to start my first race and b sidelined for a stripped gear off the start line.

I am unsure why the LF scrutineer wanted lock wire of your car for the sprint especially if it is still got rego, if unrego then you are supposed to have the engine, box and diff nuts lock wired.

For tjhe audit it needed everything as per the log book. I also lock wired the radiator cap and oil filler cap.

below is a copy of the WASCC check list, this is not everything as he also looked at things that were class relevant. It is hard work preparing a car for log book and annual audit.

Critical Items

Seats(s) and Mountings

Fire Extinguisher fitted ?

Wheels and Tyres

Chassis Condition

Steering System

Aerodynamic Aids

Suspension

Safety Cage / Padd:

Scatter Shield

Braking System

Fuel Tank and Fillers

Window Nets

Safety Harness /Date

Driver’s Apparel

Tail Shaft Strap

Non-Critical Items

Engine and Transmission

Reverse Gear

Bulkheads

Power Unit Mounts

Throttle Return

Camera Mounts

Lubrication and Cooling Systems

Wipers and Demister

Rear Vision Mirrors

Battery / Blue Triangle

Body condition (not affecting Critical Items)

Starter Motor

Isolation Switch / Lightning Bolt Triangle

Windscreen Laminated

Oil Catch Tank

Interior Cockpit Fittings

Head lights and Contact on glass / Stop Lights

Security of drain plugs

Doors

Tow Points

Other

Competition Numbers

Exhaust System

Sponsorship Decals

Body Appearance

Timing Transmitter/Transponder

Sealed eng: gearbox: diff:

Fair enuff...

sounds like a lot of work to get them approved...

I doubt you would have done a g/box.. the boxs in 33's are pretty much bullet proof from what i have been told... they will flog out synchro's but the gearsets very rarely fail unless you are putting mammoth HP through them..

Getting all that stuff sorted would have been a pain in the arse... i am cringing over the whole lockwire thing still...

8 and 10 laps with no syncros will be hard work. I decided to replace this box and when I get spare time I will rebuilt the current box. I also think that for the extra work and the odd missed gear that a few thenths may be saved per lap with a box that is nicer to use.

The audit stuff was hard work but well worth ti once the log book turned up. I am now hanging out for the 28th July for my first proper race.

doubt you would have done a g/box.. the boxs in 33's are pretty much bullet proof from what i have been told... they will flog out synchro's but the gearsets very rarely fail unless you are putting mammoth HP through them..

Yeah they are good but do break with big power. I broke the counter shaft on mine.

Like you said, gear engagement is the bad part of RB25 boxes. One day I'll get myselft a dog box :)

Not much has happened recently. A 2nd hand gearbox went in this week and feels so much better. decat pipw and a straight through exhaust with a small hot dog replaces the muffler and now it sounds a bit tougher.

It will be getting a dyno run this coming Thursday to check everything and then bang 28th July is my first race meet.

It has been stickered up again and looking good.

Edited by racegtst

So last Sunday was my debut at a race meet with the car.

WOW, did I have so fun. HELL YEAH.

I qualified 9th (17 entries). The first race was awesome but scary at he same time. The start was scary but I had fun chasing a Fiat turbo.

I started 6th I the 2nd race as it was a reverse grid and it bucketed down with rain right before the event and there was some showers during. So I took the pussy approach and just let everyone past me and then just got on with it.

The third race I started 9th and finished the day out in 8th position and beat a PB by the slightest of margins of 0.05 sec quicker.

In summary I need 2 things:

1) an extra 150 hp

2) the next race meeting, oh man am I hooked hard

Anyway below is the in car videos of each race.

Qualifying

Race 1

Race 2 - Reverse Grid

Race 3

haha great work :) the first race is pretty confronting, but it leads to a serious addiction :)

That reverse grid was pretty busy...and you were maybe too nice ;)

It is addictive and the next race is forever away, 2nd October and the next sprint is not until 22 September. Faaarken shit schedule this year.

I was way too nice in the wet on the reverse grid race. 2 reasons, 1st was I did not want to stuff up anyone point scores since I am a mid year new entrant and 2nd it has been 8 or more years since I have driven on the circuit in wet weather. Being the new boy on the block my aim was to finish. I will be less generous over time as I learn my place. :)

Ordered new brakes front brakes today, pics will be up soon.

What brand brakes did you order?

What turbo set up do you plan to go with in the future to gain the extra 150hp you say your lacking? What size rear does the HKS 2836 have? Pro s 56t? What power are you currently got 260ish kw? A water/meth kit could gain you a extra 25-30kw atw's.

Josh.

What brand brakes did you order?

What turbo set up do you plan to go with in the future to gain the extra 150hp you say your lacking? What size rear does the HKS 2836 have? Pro s 56t? What power are you currently got 260ish kw? A water/meth kit could gain you a extra 25-30kw atw's.

Josh.

Machine gun question time :laugh:

Got a front set of 4 pot Alcon's brand new for an awesome price.

When we get around to building a new engine after this one pops, the plans currently are to fully forge a 25 (something different instead of a 26 or 25/30) with a GTX35R, I think my tuner prefers adaptronic computer (currently nistune)

I am not sure on the rear housing size of the 2835 - it is PRO kit. Currently running 350rwhp (260RWKW).

I run the car in 2 different types of events, both are CAMS regulated and I am not sure if the WMI is allowed.