SAU Community

An Alternative Ecu Choice Worth Considering.

Guilt-Toy

I have seen a few threads recently and also have recieved a few PM's where people have asked advice about certain ECU's.

So I thought it would be a good idea to start a thread about my current ECU of choice.

Most of you probably don't know me, but I have been a user on SAU since i purchased my first skyline back in 2002, since then after a blown engine i realised that i should never let anyone tune my car again and started to learn myself with the help of SAU of course.

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/topic/287968-guilt-toy-in-georgia-former-soviet-union/

Since then I am now a professional tuner in the UAE, I tune cars in Abu Dhabi and Dubai + other cities here for over 2 years now and 4+ years abroad, all kinds of cars... and ALL ecu's. The ecu i tune the most now is Motec.

So the whole point of this thread is a certain ECU that has really tickled my fancy, for more reasons then one.... and i would like to share this.

That ecu is the new Select range of Adaptronics.

In this thread i will try and explain why, and also give as much info as I can about them and I will also post some tuned maps of customers cars with the ECU that I have tuned here.

Firstly, my street car in the UAE, its a 2004 American spec z33 350z, its had the v6 engine removed and a RB30 from a VL with a 26 head installed, its running ID1000 injectors and HKS2510 turbo's on stock manifolds. with stock bottom end.

I was running a Vi-pec ecu in this car for about 12 months until one day it decided that ignition number 3 did not want to run anymore, so it was time to try something a bit cheaper and when looking at the specs it did not seem that much different anyway ?

lets talk about the difference between the two.

The vipec runs the injectors fully sequential, where the adaptronic plugin is group fire.

The vipec runs the igntition in wasted spark, so does the adaptronic.