R33 Gtst Series 2 Track Build

Hi all,

Well I caught the track / drags / hill climb bug! And no matter how hard I tried it wouldn’t go away.

So instead of wrecking my 33 GTR I decided to find a cheap alternative.
Yes i know people have said im doing it wrong, track the GTR and use the GTST as the daily but my thinking is the gtst wont be as expensive to fix and maintain as the GTR.

I came across a midnight purple series2 R33 40th anniversary that had been defected.

Very neat, very straight and almost standard. Even the interior was very neat. What it was defected for was rubbish, almost too nice to destroy.

Here it is next to its bigger brother

382732_10152860168465215_658209033_n_zps

378142_10152860170380215_402905547_n_zps

20130527_080652_zps04ffa3d5.jpg

I forgot to take a pic of the inside before i started to strip it.

Going to strip it back to metal and once i can work out what and where half the wires run to, rewire the rear of the car.

Pics of starting to strip

20130530_221034_zpsc14849b9.jpg

20130530_221027_zps8ba3e681.jpg

20130530_221022_zpsda54c5d8.jpg

And now the mess in my shed!

20130530_220942_zps52a3c038.jpg

I decided the 40th anniversary front bar was in way to good of nick to destroy! Hadnt been cut no cracks etc.

So ive removed it. Unsure of what bar to put back yet

20130603_165329_zps6474557e.jpg

Heres her currently with her face off

20130602_185347_zps14bd6a1e.jpg

And thats where im up to after a week and a bit of owning it.

The short term plans are to finish stripping the interior, get rid of the sound deadener and try and work out what the wiring does running down the sides of the cars interior. Then remove most and re wire etc. Something tells me im going to hate doing it :/ / getting it to work at all!

And winter can feel free to piss off!

Im looking to start stripping the sound deadner off this long weekend.

Apart from dry ice, is there any other ways of doing it?

Heat gun and a scrapper work??

I used dry ice on mine and got my whole car and a mates car done in about 8 hours. I wouldn't bother with a heat gun and a scraper as it will be messy as f**k. Dry ice is the easiest way.

Loving it mate, looks heaps awesome. Can't wait for the build to commence.

How much did the car itself set you back, and are there any problems that were wrong with it when bought?

Thanks mate.

No problems ran well very clean very straight good paint no dents. Even the interior was good.

It was defected tho. But if I spent less then a 1000 it would get put back on the road. Bought it for 3900

Try BOC gases for dry ice. It's definitely the easiest way for the majority, have tried a heat gun and it gets really messy.

Some of the pads are made of something different like the ones either side of your gear stick in the pic. The dry ice doesn't work on those.

If you can get your hands on a power chisel it will get the other stuff off no sweat.

Once trick for a good job is if the dry ice is frozen and not coming off with gentle persuasion, there is usually some glue / sealer in there. Go for the power chisel on those spots rather than going nuts with a hammer trying to crack it.

... and there is no way around it - cleaning it up afterwards takes ages - carby cleaner works the best I have found - about 10 cans of it. Not sure about long term health effects though!

Otherwise just do what you can and paint over the rest.

Thanks mate, im hopefully finishing up removing stuff this long weekend. Then will get dry ice the following weekend hopefully.

Im really not looking forward to it as im pretty fussy in general.

I think a tradie mate of mine has a power chiesl will give him a buzz

With the long weekend done and dusted i didnt get as much done as i would have liked...

But the aircon is finally all out! Inside and under the bonnet. Will admit it took longer and harder then id like to admit.

Also removed the alarm.

post-33454-0-24918500-1370915176_thumb.jpg

post-33454-0-31287700-1370915197_thumb.jpg

• 5 months later...

Not much of an update, been to busy finishing my gtr!

Bought a gtr ztune bonnet and do luck bonnet lip for the track car, test fit on the GTR and fits amazing! Surprised actually!

Was going to leave it on the gtr it fit that well, but weight saving would be small if any plus unwanted daily driving attention!

Also added a $2 body kit just for shits and giggles.... and yes was all for $2! Will now remove the OEM GTR spoiler and find something else....

At this stage i think ive just destroyed a neat series 2! Long way to go!

post-33454-0-75517000-1386557663_thumb.jpg

post-33454-0-28237000-1386557678_thumb.jpg

Continued the work on the car...

Started removing all wires that arent needed.. not quite half way through. long way to go!

1467212_619547654748030_1296171376_n_zps

Also will be removing the OEM gtr spoiler... have undone all the bolts but its still stuck on nice and tight.

Guessing its just stickoflex holding it on??

1451442_10153596740440215_1458560811_n_z

If it's a factory GT-R spoiler on a factory boot and hasn't been removed then it's just very stick double sided tape. Best method is to use fishing line and run that through (you have to go around the bolts and little plastic clips though).

Was bored last night so did this.... lol not sure i like it at all... un-tinted yet but dont think ill go any further anyway....

So an hour to destroy a perfectly good tail light lol..... seems like the way its going... 3 to 6 months destroying a perfectly neat series 2!!! haha

1390735_10153627884870215_149293855_n_zp

1521864_10153627885115215_1650278524_n_z

1515037_10153627884985215_1995270513_n_z