SAU Community

Engine Bay Cleaning

Is there any specific way of cleaning and detailing an engine/ engine bay? Or is a few cans of HD degreaser and anf well used Gernie and a little towel action the only way to go? This is the reason I ask.

post-100977-13786196565374_thumb.jpg

As you can see she's got quite a dirty heart in her.

Any hints and tips reslly appreciated, many thanks in advance.

• Like 1

I picked up a free sample bottle of Simple Green from Bursons a couple of weeks ago.

I'dd tried a ton of different solutions and nothing has worked as well as this so far. Mind you i was using it as a 100% concentrate! :woot:

A good tip is to buy a ton of small tooth brushes and melt the handles into suitable angles to get to the harder spots :)

IMAG0021.jpg

• Like 1

A good tip is to buy a ton of small tooth brushes and melt the handles into suitable angles to get to the harder spots :)

i have been detailing my car every 3 weeks for 4 years and you just blew my mind. thank you sir!

I find Prepsol for painted surfaces in the engine bay works really well to remove oily, fuel, greasy stains. Just give it a good rub while it's wet.

(Especially good for the fume stains on the underside of the bonnet)

Tin foil (out of the pantry) is flexible to work over/around electrical connections (real easy).

Plastic shopping bag over the airfilter/s.

Degreaser for the engine as per the vid.

Rinse down/dry off.

Depending if your picky you can then use a mild cutting/polish compound on the engine bay painted surfaces like struts etc. Micro fibre off and then wax. Easier to clean next time.

Stiff paintbrush is a good tip from the vid as with old tooth brushes mentioned above^^.

Giving the hoses a quick wipe over with an interior cleaner brings them up shiney.

And of course if you have shiney metal :( then a metal all purpose cleaner after a metal polish makes it look tits :D

Using one of those power cones for polishing makes it a lot easier :)

Edited by Anonymouse