R32 Gts+t Daily/street

Last BSMC

10960353_1548975058690795_64523742652221

10452896_363960307110198_405768469412420

10549281_320010181528012_331713609333470

we did a few spray outs with the paint and had to keep taking it back to the paint supplier as the match wasnt close enough. after the third time going back to the painter the spray out finally looked pretty close.

Front end parts with paint

10962108_916709748361814_1539194818_n_zp

10966933_916709658361823_1229632417_n_zp

Capture_zpsqwtkedwh.jpg

Rust spot on roof repaired and bogged

10979341_919460814753374_1958872435_n_zp

10959464_10202395036117825_2089776494147

Spotted an S14 steering rack with new ends and boots for cheap.

seeing as there was 20 degrees play in the wheel before anything happened . i also had a mild power steering leak. Rack boots were gone and the ends were fairly flogged.

After some research i was lead to believe that an S14 rack was a direct bolt up to my R32's (SPOILER: it wasnt) and should be a 2hr tops job.

It took me about an hour to get the old rack out and the new one in. there was just a slight issue with the power steering line fitment...

IMG_1085_zpscyyakllv.jpg

DAY 2 of a 2 hour job

As it turned out the power steering lines on a factory NON HICAS 32 are very different to the lines on a HICAS model.

NON HICAS both lines for the rack run in front of the cross member.

HICAS has one line in front and one behind.

luckily the seller of the S14 rack also had a set of Hicas lines and i was able to get the rack and lines in place with some mild modification.

IMG_1092_zpsmpkgqdmf.jpg

Also tried to fit up a clock spring so I'd have a horn.

notice the issue?

IMG_1091_zpsjt4vxury.jpg

so far not everything was coming up Milhouse. not at all.

Went back to the rack and tried to adjust it to close enough before driving to the wheel aligners and i ran out of thread on the tierods before the wheels were remotely straight. (previous owner had extended LCA's and changed tie rods to suit.)

I sourced a set of correct length ones and while under the car i noticed this had happened.

IMG_1080_zpsksuuxtlk.jpg

Day 3 of the 2 hour job

I replaced the slave, got the wheel alignment done and took it for a well deserved drive.

With the front end components painted had having had time for the paint to harden up a bit it was finally time to fit up the front end.

11008859_10153687644464896_1334035222_n_

went to the car wash and gave it a quick spray off.

11021213_468059173342905_826301038042336

10981954_468059283342894_505541483724362

front%20end%201_zpsirofhflt.jpg

Fitted the grill + some bolt on spacers to fill out the guards

25mm%20spacer%202_zpsjsxrmp3h.jpg

What size spacers did you use ?

ended up with 25mm. 20mm would have been what i was after but this is what came up

effective front wheel size is now 17x9 -3 haha

Probably can drop back to 20mm once i adjust some camber out of the front end

Some photos from All Japan Day 2015. all photo credit to the photographers

getting it ready.

10433113_10206232824882161_3402489968486

1402004_443178025845976_7132399577720460

10996802_10153135394449556_5197683569588

11066524_770401019695058_429556845220370

11034326_1569241133330854_57311079321382

i also got a daily

10983492_10153753430659896_5601473138097

Hopefully now that i have a daily i can focus more time and attention on the 32 for mods, without the rush to get it back on the road to drive to work

Edited by CRSKmD

car looked good on the afsr cruze

Cheers mate. i got a photo of you taking a photo of our cars :P

Currently im on the fence about what do to body wise to my car.

rego runs out soon and im toying with the idea of fixing the dents and other damage and giving it a full repsray.

but not sure if its worth doing...?

Bonnets like a mirror, nothing like a great paint job, its hard to go backwards with an RB , I have dreams of a 32GTR they look tough even after 25years.. :worship: good to see you've taken it out on track, mine hibernates in the shed waiting mods :domokun:

Edited by AngryRB

Bonnets like a mirror, nothing like a great paint job, its hard to go backwards with an RB , I have dreams of a 32GTR they look tough even after 25years.. :worship: good to see you've taken it out on track, mine hibernates in the shed waiting mods :domokun:

yeah the front end is mint thanks to Pearl Factory

sadly the rear of the car has seen several track days and 2.5 years of daily life (carpark dings etc). :verymad:

thinking of putting mine in the shed to fix the rest of the body work up to be as clean as the front end...but still undecided :unsure:

yeah i guess you have to draw the line somewhere, mine got put in shed and now i havnt even driven it for 12months :verymad: best to enjoy it i reckon, id rather spend the money on performance unless its really bad, no fun when its stuck in the shed :/

Keep up the good work

yeah i guess you have to draw the line somewhere, mine got put in shed and now i havnt even driven it for 12months :verymad: best to enjoy it i reckon, id rather spend the money on performance unless its really bad, no fun when its stuck in the shed :/

Keep up the good work

yeah currently the rear end resembles a cleanish drift car...and the front end is fresh 2 pac paint

also the colour match isn't perfect haha. just eats at me.

so now the next question is keep it blue or full colour swap?

if i kept the blue i want a similar colour but more metallic.

for any colour i don't want custom i want a factory colour so it easy to get more of if need be

Awesome build man!

Read it all and it's definitely come a long way

Good to see the potential of a car when in the right hands! (Unlike when you previously bought it)

Keen to see more updates as they come mate :cheers:

Re registered the 32 and after a few grumbles from not being driven for over 2 months (still started regularly) we got it to start.

New plugs and a set of Splitfires in and it ran well. Immediately went for a test drive.

after only driving the 3cyl power house that is my daily this was a bit of a difference! ;)

During its time off the road i purchases a pair of genuine Bride seats + a nardi. will post pictures of these at some point soon

Brides and nardi in. next up for interior is fix broken trims, gauges, and a better gear knob. safe to say decent seats really transform the driving experience for the better

11759432_10154135625824896_2063955710_n_

11748844_10154135625884896_615244531_n_z

11751265_10154135625899896_502678111_n_z