SAU Community

2015 Goals

mr_rbman

Well I've been training weights for about the last three years with reasonable progressions in some areas and pretty poor progression in others...

Have spent the last couple of weeks reading through Markos' thread 'Powerlifting'......much of the time in awe ha-ha.

To date I've just been training at home and only had a proper squat/power rack that I built for the last 12 months or so along with one strongman session per week (yoke, farmers walks, log etc.......).

My best mate is a PT and has just secured himself a warehouse where it will be focussed around 'Powerlifting', 'Weightlifting' & 'Strongman'.

In return for me fabricating some of the equipment I will be able to train there for free which I believe/hope will certainly help me progress especially for those times where I perhaps haven't gone for that extra rep, set, weight etc. (we all do it even if only subconsciously) and just having other lifters around can only be a good thing......

My current stats are as follows: 30yrs of age, 175cm @ 82ish kg

Current 1RM deadlift = 200kg

Current 1RM squat = 150kg

Current 1RM bench = 80kg (this is clearly the one that needs a lot of work)

I always figured I just had a weak upper body, in comparison to my lower body anyway......but after delving a little deeper I have visited a Chiro (Does Strongman himself) and had X-Rays taken, I will try attach the X-ray's.

Basically it turns out that I was born with a short leg (8mm shorter on my right than my left), apparently this is fairly common I am led to believe, so now all my right shoes have an 8mm heel.

What this has caused is pretty evident in the picture attached and that combined with a poor posture has made my shoulders very weak and therefore overhead press, bench etc. hasn't progressed as it should or I would have hoped. I am currently seeing the Chiro twice a week and doing rehab everyday hoping to get things sorted as quickly as possible but these things take time.