SAU Community

An Idiots Guide To Driving In Japan

seraphyn_r33

I figured quite a few of you who visit the Japan forum here would have had at least a fleeting thought about hiring some kind of sports car and driving in Japan during their trip. Despite the difficulties that CAN arise, it’s not too hard unless you’re a total idiot. Here’s an idiots guide to cover necessary points for the absolute beginner so you don’t go in completely unprepared.

Preparation steps:
(Before you leave for Japan)

International Drivers License!
For us Aussies, it’s as simple as going into your RACV/NRMA with your passport and drivers license, have your photo taken, handover about $25 bucks and you walk out with your international license. Without this and your passport, you won’t be able to hire a car full stop. Plus, if you get one, stop off at the Toyota Megaweb in Daiba and drive an 86 or something else in their roster around their facility.

LICENSE TUNE UP OK!

Book a car!
The fun part! I’m assuming you want to hire a GTR right? No problem! Here’s the two main sites I see people using to hire a car. I have used Omoshiro as I wanted an R34 GTR.
http://www.premium-rent.com/en/ - A lot of modern and high end cars including the R35. For the man of many yen.
http://en.omoren.com/ - Mostly the 90’s classics. Use this if you want a Supra, R34, RX7 etc.

Important notes: You will need a credit card to not only book, but to pay when you arrive to collect your car. Visa and Mastercard are your safest bets.
ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS pay the extra for insurance. Common sense really. Its not a lot either.
ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS pay the extra to hire a GPS. (more on this later.)
CAR LEVEL UP OK!

Ok, so now we are in Japan. Ideally you’ve been in Tokyo for at least a few days and have familiarised yourself with the trains, the environment, and what Japan is like. You’ve either caught a train/trains or taken a taxi (moneybags!) to wherever you have decided to hire a car from.