Bills 33 Gtst Streeter/track Car

I was also at Winton. Your car caught my eye, I was wondering where I had seen it before. Unfortunately I was having issues with mine for most of the day so I didn't get a chance to come up for a look and say g'day. I did however admire it each time I was lining up for the day. Congrats on the PB. 

Thanks man, which car where you in?

perhaps make a splitter Bill, that would help so there's no need to reduce the ARB hardness
Did you say splitter, look what you've made me do now.

Splitter V1, 100mm overhang, made with 8mm marine ply bolted to the cross member, 10 rivnuts on bumper lip and 2 steel rods attached to rad support panel. I should block off the unecessary holes gaps but ill test it first and then make V2 out of a better material. Was hoping to test it at Sandown tomorrow but weather is not looking good, may have to wait.

IMG20180518154330.jpeg

IMG20180518154335.jpeg

IMG20180518154344.jpeg

Had some company as well.

IMG20180517144421.jpeg

On 5/22/2018 at 7:49 AM, BrendanR33 said:

Whit R33 GTST.

DSCF7717.JPG

Nice, what sort of dramas? From what i remember when watching the other groups your car looked pretty damn quick, unless that was another white skyline. How much power and what sort of mods are u running?

Edit, where did you get that pic from? Wondering if there was any of my boat.

I had a look through the sets of pics that were shared and you didn't really feature mate. See below, that was all I could see on a quick glance. 

They are all on the AWDCC facebook page - https://www.facebook.com/groups/awdcc/

Brendan isn't much of a regular here so I'll answer for him. He had breather/oil control issues which, at its worse, was causing the car to misfire/stop making power all together. He ran his PB for the day of a 33 in the shootout despite having no power coming into turn 3, you could hear it die then come back. 

He's got around 300rwkw, it's an RB25/30 with basic supporting mods.

Interesting that our lap times are almost identical given the power difference but same tyres. I think there was a few hundredths in it at most? Are you on 255 AR1 also or have I got you mixed up? 

I don't have my RaceChrono phone here, but I can see you're a solid 20km/h faster down the main straight, and of course the other straights just not by as much, so I must be making up a little through each corner/under brakes. 

I think there's a high 36 in these tyres with some clear track and on a good run. 

32267167_10155733718466799_8344206636683886592_o.jpg

32281054_10155733721086799_7734288690440044544_o.jpg

32293665_10155733710761799_6030268039318994944_o.jpg

32324944_10155733713391799_7076730043531001856_o.jpg

32326076_10155733721836799_5158543528254504960_o.jpg

Edited by ActionDan

Thanks for the pics @ActionDan I was on 265 Ar1. They had already done 5-6 track days before Winton. Still looked ok but obviously not at their peak. My car with me suited up and fuel in it is around 1500kg so id say yours would of been better under brakes for sure and would probably have held a few kph higher around the corners with the splitter and wing you have. Was having heaps of understeer, which im hoping the new splitter will fix and was driving cautiously considering the 300 odd km drive back home. There is definitely a few more seconds in the car if i push the limits with new tyres, i was quite slow around the sweeper, boobs and coming out of the chicane at the end of the front straight. Was only my 3rd time at Winton, 2nd with this car. i do want to go back again but sadly the distance means it won't be for a while. Overall quite happy with a 37 considering it's my daily driver and i drove it there and back. Only thing removed from it was backseats and different wheels tyres. Otherwise same spec as i drive it around in every day.

What tyres was Brendan on? What pressures did you end up with on the day on the AR1?

Yeah mine have done 4 days so far, 2 of which was in stinking hot summer and some portions are already down to the tread indicators and have been flat spotted from a brake balance issue I was chasing. 

I'm really not sure how much the splitter helps tbh, but it looks the part. The rear wing definitely helped me but I got the biggest gains from roll centre adjusters/rear subframe and diff swap. Basically just better geometry. 

Brendan is on the hankooks, what are they Z221 or something? Medium compound and still semis. 

Im hoping to get this out again to Sandown on the 10/6 if the weather is good to see what the splitter does for me, unfortunately will be on the same tyres as they still have plenty of tread and i like to get value for $, i'll run them till there absolutely shagged or times drop off significantly.

Bought a proper seat finally. Came home this avo to this package.

IMG20180531163330.jpeg

Current model Sparco pro 2000

IMG20180531175140.jpeg

Weighs in at 8.4kg, rail adds around 3.

Also bought these recently

1527766006380.jpeg

Hopefully fit the seat over the weekend and give it a track test the following weekend.

And installed

IMG20180602124818.jpeg

IMG20180602124919.jpeg

Ended up using a fixed rail similar to this i had laying around

SCR_SAT0011k-001_R07IMFNMJAEJ_600x.jpeg

Also recently changed my innovate mtxl wideband over to an AEM x series.

First impression is it's a little faster than the mtxl and i like how i can change from 3 to 4 decimals and between afr, lambda and 02% at the touch of a button unlike the mtxl which had to be changed through a pc.

IMG20180602125049.jpeg

IMG20180602124950.jpeg

Thanks Dan, booked in for Sandown on Sunday.

Typically as soon as i booked, my car developed some sort of vacuum leak creating a high idle. Possibly pcv, hopefully i can get it sorted in time. Damn Nissan's.