SAU Community

Lgmt2's centre cap 3D printing

Navara96

Hi guys,

I'll start of by saying I'm no professional, really I'm doing this just to improve my solid works skills and hopefully end up with a replacement set of centre caps I can use. But I am planning on 3D printing a set of Ray's centre caps to fit lmgt 2's ( may fit 1's aswell?) as anyone with the caps know the plastic gets brittle and the mounting tabs snap off! I have seen sets go for over $600 in good condition... But really they are still 20 years old . All going well the final product will be made of abs plastic ( unless anyone has an opinion for otherwise?) yet to see wether there will be the ability to colour match to the originals otherwise more than likely black , cost I am unsure of yet.... I was going to see if there is any interest first so I could enquire for x amount of caps and see what happens but hoping around half the cost. All the dimensions and measurements are being taken from a genuine centre cap and I will get a mock cap made up first to ensure fit.

Is this something anyone/ones would be interested in? Nothing final just a gauge of interest at this stage.

Thanks!

53e76c340be40a5251b6c4614b856a31.jpg

As Ravi alluded to, I think that the hexagonal caps of the LMGT1, LMGT2, LMGT3 and Magnesium LMGT4 are the same; (but not the LMGT4 GT500).

Pete - aka PLYNX on SAU - has made them before.

They can be either be black or sliver-frost in colour.

just need to get the bottom section with the mounting tabs sorted (probably finish it tomorrow night or tuesday) 

but overall it matches the centre cap i have here quite precisely so hopefully this week i can look into getting a prototype printed! if anyone here knows somebody or a company to go through to get them printed please let me know :)

thanks

Screenshot (23).png

Screenshot (24).png

• Like 1