SAU Community

Toyota Echo/Yaris Coil pack conversion for RB25DET

iMick

Toyota Echo/Yaris Coil pack conversion for RB25DET

Yooo, 

This is a full conversion guide from RB25det to Yaris/echo coil packs.

In this guide, i'm going to try and include as much information as I can but please forgive me as i'm an electrician and not the best at writing.

This is an insight how I did it. Please treat this as a guide, and don’t crucify me if you don’t agree on something I’ve done cheers.

- Please read full guide before attempting coil pack conversion, cheers.

First, bit of background:

I decided to attempt to convert my RB25det to yaris coil packs, I found there's not a huge amount of information out there about this conversion other then people just selling "conversion kits". I found a few really good informative websites about coilpacks & wiring information (which i'll link), and a few photos of some rb's that have been converted, other then that I didn't really find any guide for it.

I personally was on a bit of a budget & thought what you got in the conversion kits for the money plainly wasn't worth it.

Why Yaris/echo coil packs?

-Cheap (i'll include prices of what i paid for everything.)

-Reliable

-Don't suffer from heatsoak as bad as Splitfires or OEM coilpacks

-Good for 100hp per cylinder

-Easily attainable

-Tried and proved method, common conversion for the 1j and 2jz boys.

-Heaps of information around for them, including dwell times etc

Part 1:

First thing to do is get some coil packs and plugs, I decided to go for Toyota Echo/Yaris coil packs part number:

DENSO 90919-02240,

I went to 2 local wreckers and found 8 coil packs for a total of $100, depending where you go this might vary. I could have got 6, but for the money & the chance of me blowing them up, I thought it would be a good idea to get spares.

18254368_10154979110955873_191756522_n.thumb.jpg.9bc6530e511b6b7ae12ea2cbf13aab52.jpg