SAU Community

Thoughts on drifting daily car?

Sky_lin3

Thoughts on drifting daily car?

Hey guys I am looking to purchase a turbo car for my daily drive and I want to get into drifting. I am just curious, considering I've never done drifting before, how often do you run into issues with your car due to drifting? Would you say its a bad decision to drift in a daily?

I don't know personally, but it was my impression that drifting was the most brutal of all the "track car" setups. Dumping the clutch, throwing the car around sideways and running high rpms. I'm not saying don't do it, but I'd expect that every Monday after a session you'll be catching the bus for a day or two.
I'd love to see you do it just to see how you go, but I really think you might have troubles. Just my two cents...

My personal opinion is that it's never a good idea.

You'll be fine with having the occasional skid, or wet pan/peanut day but drifting is incredibly harsh on every part of a car.

Not only will you break critical items all the time, you will also strain everything else to the point of failure eg: suspension and bushes/clutch/diff/gearbox/engine/exterior and interior

Which all round results in a lower quality car which you started with. And as mentioned you'll probably need to catch the bus at times.. 

Agreed ... I wouldn't do it. Especially when your learning and if your car isn't up to scratch .... belting on it if something goes wrong, at best you'll prob get stuck at the track and have to get a tow home ... and then what. No car to do anything else with even drive around and get parts you need to fix the car

Drifting whether learning or at top level is brutal on your car

Edited by bcozican

• 3 weeks later...

A bit of a late reply but having done i'll share a few bits.