SAU Community

Hey Guys, 

I have probably been a member of this site for a few years at least and never actually taken notice of it. I have only started to realise that there is actually alot of useful information on here which is sort of expected. 

I am the proud owner of a Nissan Skyline R32 GTR ( GODZILLA ). i have owned the car for roughly 8 years now. I purchased it off a young guy whos parants made him sell it, although at the time of test driving it there were a few issues. It had a wheel bearing issue as well as having a spun bearing, (guess which one went). So i was facing a very hard decision. I was a 21 year old male who had no money and had to borrow a whole heap, although i was a mechanic at the time. 

So i decided to do some work to the engine. I didnt have enough money to get pistons and i was told the standard pistons are fine for a whole heap of power, I got 2 new LARGER turbos GT2860GTRS, refreshed bearings gaskets mains rods and all the rest. 

It has been off the road for a number of years sitting in a garage making money basically and i am now considering saving up to get it back on the road. 

What does everyone think about this ? Would it be a better idea to keep it locked up in a garage while they continue to go up in value, or is it a better idea to get it running again, i guess give it a solid service and it will probably need alot of new bushes and stuff from sitting sedate in the same spot for roughly 5 years. 

Does anyone know if they will continue to go up in price or if they are going to plateau? I am also worried about insurance and just how expensive it will be. I guess im lucky because i am over 30 now, is Shannons the best company to insure it with ? and what is the price they cover it for? 

Thanks guys, I look forward to having convos with you all, and if i do end up choosing to get it running i will join and end up coming to alot of the events. 

Can anyone explain