SAU Community

Power FC won’t connect to laptop

12 hours ago, GTSBoy said:

So what are you using to connect it? USB-serial adapter?

My mate has the proper Alexi software and plug in adapter to the USB.

It’s a “razor performance” USB adaptor or something, I’ll ask.

But yeh, it’s all the official software and all.

USB-Serial adapters are famously a pain in the arse.  There are basically 2 or 3 chipsets in all of them.  Some of them just do not work with different peripherals.  Others work fine.  I have no knowledge of what works with the PFC.

Assuming you can get the converter to play ball with Windows, the PFC software will want to be talking to a particular COM port.  You will have to check that in the software's config and then you will want to see (in device manager) that that COM port is actually being provided by the adapter.  Sometimes you get silly shit, like the software only allows you to choose between COM1 to 3, but the adapter only provides COM15 or something equally stupid.  Sometimes there are ways to fix that sort of problem, sometimes it's just a case of trying another adapter.

• Thanks 1

7 minutes ago, GTSBoy said:

USB-Serial adapters are famously a pain in the arse.  There are basically 2 or 3 chipsets in all of them.  Some of them just do not work with different peripherals.  Others work fine.  I have no knowledge of what works with the PFC.

Assuming you can get the converter to play ball with Windows, the PFC software will want to be talking to a particular COM port.  You will have to check that in the software's config and then you will want to see (in device manager) that that COM port is actually being provided by the adapter.  Sometimes you get silly shit, like the software only allows you to choose between COM1 to 3, but the adapter only provides COM15 or something equally stupid.  Sometimes there are ways to fix that sort of problem, sometimes it's just a case of trying another adapter.