SAU Community

R32 Power steering

Hi Guys!
New to this forum, Recently picked up an R32 Sedan with a swapped SR20DET Engine in it. I have some experience with the SR20 Engine but not so much on the power steering etc.

The power steering is very hard when i purchased the car, the seller liked it and didn't look into it much in the 4 months he owned the car. but I'm not a fan.

Car is running a Haltec E8 ECU, Hicas lock out bar. and i imagine standard SR20 Power steering pump.

Can anyone shed some light on this issue, and give me some guidance and how I might be able to fix it, any help is appreciated

- I suggest check the power steering pump likely is defective and ensure you have enough fluids.

- Or perhaps a short circuit occurred somewhere like the wiring loom for the oxygen sensor killing that and affecting the power steering. 

- Check HICAS fuses as it is linked to streering. 

- Check speed sensor under your dash

17 minutes ago, Robocop2310 said:

- I suggest check the power steering pump likely is defective and ensure you have enough fluids.

- Or perhaps a short circuit occurred somewhere like the wiring loom for the oxygen sensor killing that and affecting the power steering. 

- Check HICAS fuses as it is linked to streering. 

- Check speed sensor under your dash

I admire your desire to help, but there is literally no way, ever, that O2 sensor wiring will affect the steering. Never ever.

1 minute ago, Ben C34 said:

I admire your desire to help, but there is literally no way, ever, that O2 sensor wiring will affect the steering. Never ever.

All good mate but it can happen. I'm not suggesting the O2 sensor is related to the power steering but I have heard R32's wiring looms for the oxy sensor connected to the heater fail which then affected the O2 sensor and killing the power steering. It has happened.  

1 hour ago, Robocop2310 said: