SAU Community

Should I sell my Skyline for a 4wd

I have been considering selling my R33 Skyline for a 4wd as I spend too much money on it and hardly drive it enough to justify it as there is always issues with it. 

I have been looking at buying a fairly new 4wd to daily and use recreationally, a good option at the moment looks to be a Mitsubishi Triton. 

What would you do and why?

How can we possibly answer that without knowing your life situation...

Me personally? I'd keep the Skyline but I'm a different person to you so...

A Skyline is more of a hobby than a means of transport so if you are bored with it move on!

As a former truck driver I can never understand why people buy a little truck for private use instead of a more comfortable car but if you are the hunting , shooting, fishing type of person who actually goes off road then a proper 4wd would be more use than a Skyline. If you want a ute then Toyota is still the best although the Isuzu D Max is also pretty bullet proof. Have you considered the likes of a Subaru Forester?

7 hours ago, KiwiRS4T said:

A Skyline is more of a hobby than a means of transport so if you are bored with it move on!

As a former truck driver I can never understand why people buy a little truck for private use instead of a more comfortable car but if you are the hunting , shooting, fishing type of person who actually goes off road then a proper 4wd would be more use than a Skyline. If you want a ute then Toyota is still the best although the Isuzu D Max is also pretty bullet proof. Have you considered the likes of a Subaru Forester?

Toyota is the best, but you pay a price for it. Mechanically triton/hilux are fairly similar, hilux having a bigger motor which is more unreliable than the 4d56 in the Triton. 

Triton I believe is just better value wise, and people don't give it enough credit. 

I have a Subaru forester atm as a daily, it's alright but I want something more suited to 4wding ?

17 hours ago, Steve85 said: