SAU Community

R34: JRZ installed = chatter noise

Hello and happy Friday! 

I have a question for you guys.  I'm totally new to Nissan Skyline's but my R34 GTR V-spec is making some chatter noise after I installed JRZ RS Two-Way's.  After they were installed, the rear of the car makes some chassis chatter noise.  To me it sounds like loose top hats, but they're not loose.  It's like a dull rattling sound.  I took the car to two shops here in Japan so far and both have identified the noise coming from the JRZ's.  They think it has to do with the helper springs.  That said, JRZ's are not common here and the two shops I went to have never even heard of JRZ.   So that may be the reason why they blame the JRZ's. 

The car is lowered, but not slammed.  I've attached photos to show the ride height and JRZ's.  I don't know anyone else who has JRZ's on their GTR's here.  Does anyone have experience with JRZ's or suspension with a similar design that has some noise issues?  Maybe the noise is normal, but when I put back on the OEM suspension, no noise exists.  Maybe it has to do with the top hat design and is just something I need to get used to.  The shops I took the car to said the rear suspension bushings are all OK and I had them check the sway bar connections.  So maybe it's just something I need to live with.  It's not LOUD but it's noticeable and only occurs over bumps.  The car drives amazingly with them on though.

Thanks for any help and sharing your experiences.

-Evan

IMG_20190622_103434.jpg

IMG_20190704_142753.jpg

IMG_20190704_142855.jpg

• Like 1

40 minutes ago, GTSBoy said:

Steel on steel bearing at the top will be noisy. (not intended for street/comfort/NVH).