SAU Community

R34 Brake Upgrade advice

So i have been looking at brake upgrades for my 1998 N/A r34 GT chassis and i am blown away by the prices for the brembo r34 GTR kit. close to 3000 USD.

My question is.... is there other more affordable brands and options available that people can share their experience with? 

I was told that all the S and R chassis are all interchangeable in exception for the 14 and 12mm mounting bolts.  

I am relatively new to the car scene and its my very first time shopping for brakes.

My budget would be anything under 2000 USD. 

Can anyone let me know what they would recommend? I dont want anything used!

Thanks

You want these, or equivalent

https://justjap.com/catalog/product/view/id/20578/s/attkd-brake-kit-nissan-skyline-r34-99-02/category/2868/

Everything is new including brake lines, pads, discs, and they are well made and well tested

Just contact them first to confirm they will fit NA R34 (I expect they will), and what the minimum size wheels are.

I run these on my Cima and Stagea, and have used them on my race car (with different pads), have found them reliable and good value.

• Like 1

High performance brakes are not cheap so what kind of brakes do you need? Are you going to be track racing your car? If not the best upgrade for your car is a set of GTT brakes together with new brake fluid upgraded brake lines and better pads.

If you are set on brand new stuff (and can't get Nissan parts new) then there is the D2 series of brakes. They are AP knock offs and are sold under a few other names as well. I have used them on the track (with Pagid pads) and others  (such as Duncan who has just replied above) have used them for racing.

• Like 1

Its not a track car but its a fully forged and built rb25neo with a garret gtx3071r around 14 psi street car that i also drift on the weekends with and the breaks are very old and desperately needs replacing. Thanks for the advice thus far 

1998 r34 gt N/A 

Cp neo pistons 9.5/1