SAU Community

Prospective buyer in Japan: need advice on HR34 RB25det

GoHashiriya

Hi all,

I'm a Z owner based in Japan and am in the market for Skyline. Today I went and looked at an HR34 with an RB25DET swap and manual conversion. The car is in brilliant shape, with little to no rust, however it's an HR34.

I'm a relatively abusive driver and attend the track frequently but my Z is getting a little tired and I think it's time to switch cars.

I want to know, what, other than the engine and transmission, will be weak on the HR34:

- I've read that these cars are non-hicas - fine - and will have other implications when it comes to suspension setups such as GTST coilovers will be incompatible; I will need to use ECR33 variants. And also, the car doesn't have a rear sway bar. Is this as simple as buying a sway bar and installing it, or am i going to be missing mounting points also?

- brakes: puny sliding caliper brakes were used on these. 

Is there anything else I'm missing here?

Am I going to have any other difficulty sourcing and/or installing parts?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Oh, and here's a pic of my Z: 

IMG_8179-1 Plate-1.jpg

Edited by GoHashiriya
  • Like 2

The Z is probably better.

However you won't run into any issues, the rear sway bar will bolt on (it has the holes, you need the brackets from a GTT).
Things are mostly compatible. Think R33 GTST brakes, R33 GTST Coilovers.

Your gearbox kinda depends on what gearbox got put in. Could be a R33 GTST gearbox too, pretty common!

I am basing this on the HR34 being the same as the ER34. There aren't any real HR34's in AU.

The Z is probably better.

Thanks for the input, the sway bar is is pretty crucial and it's good to know it mounts up, along with the brakes. I've found that the Z brembos will fit on a 33 with some minor modifications. This is probs a BBK option to explore.