SAU Community

RB25DET-Neo Loud "Whining/Wirring" Engine-Noise, Timing Belt?

Hi Guys, so last week after a hard drive my R34 GTT has a pretty loud whining/wirring Noise coming from the front of the Engine.

Its hard to catch on Camera since theres a lot of windnoise coming from the Ventilator in the front, i guess you can hear it the best while idling after reving it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3AWah4SUGU

This Noise gets louder with higher rpm, and is almost louder than the Exhaust at 6-7k rpm. It also happens with both clutch engaged and not.

My guess is either the Timingbelt (but what exactly? I dont think it tighten up itself harder than the week before) or a secondary belt like the alternator (since i had a popped headlight bulb after the drive last week, maybe it overcharged and killed itself?).

I know my way around a engine, but i'm not a mechanic and don't have proper equipment to lift the car and investigate blindly, so any hint is appreciated!

i would start by taking all the other belts off and fire it up(ac, alt, powersteering). if the whining goes away you know its from alt, power steering, or ac belts or pulleys.  if sound continues remove front covers replace timing belt, idle pulleys , and water pump. ive had my water pump make some wierd noises right before it went. now would be a good time to take that noise seriously and fix it before something bad happens. all the parts and trouble shooting i just listed shouldnt cost more than 500 quid. cheers mate. if you have never done a timing belt id have a mate assist you the first time to measure deflection proper. i come from a rb26 world but im sure its much like the neo in this case.