SAU Community

Reparing my r34 after crash - Pod filter

Hi, I recently crashed my r34 GT into a kurb then tree sadly. 

Ive done all the mechanical myself ( making it driveable for the panel shop ) and will be getting it back within the next week or 2

The bottom half of the air intake box was completely smahed up ( The MAF unit and everything above is undamaged ) 

I have purchased what I am hoping ( but am unsure )  are the right parts ( K-N universal pod filter + Maf unit adapter )  as to make the pod filter work so my whole intake is back up and running as a whole . As Im a 1st year apprentice mechanic with nissan so the knowledge isnt there just yet so any help is appreciated. 

https://autobarn.com.au/ab/Autobarn-Category/Spare-Parts/Filters/Air-Filters/K%26N-UNIVERSAL-POD-FILTER/p/PE45411 - POD Filter 

https://autobarn.com.au/ab/Autobarn-Category/Shop-our-Full-Ranges-by-Brand-|-Autobarn/TFI-Racing/TFI-Racing-Filter-Adaptor-Compatible-with-Nissan-Toyota---9096-/p/PE01742 - Adatper ( There was an r34 specific adapter on another site for the same price however they wanted to charge 60$ for shipping and I cant afford that with the body shop repair costs haha and it would be pretty easy to take back to autobarn if the adapter doesnt fit  ) 

IN terms of performance and heat should  I be worried or should I do anything else in order for everything to be back to how it was?

Do i need to get a heat shield for the pod filter 

Do I need to get it tuned professionally ? 

I have a rb25de 

Thank you ! 

This isn't the fun answer, but the stock airbox and snorkel will outperform a pod filter that is naked in the engine bay on a naturally aspirated car, if you can source that I would be sourcing that. That performs as a pretty good cold air intake, and I do not think you will be having vaccum under full throttle with a RB25DE to necessitate a larger intake system at all.