SAU Community

New Australian GTR Record

PurpleR32

Well I guess it was only a matter of time before the 9.75s record set by Mario's GTR 700 was broken. An adelaide entrant has clintched top spot with a 9.745. Keir Wilson is the owner/driver of the R32 GTR with an OS Giken 3 litre, hollinger, and TD06 turbos (last time i checked)

Congrats must go to Keir and everyone involved as thats a sensational effort.

With the return of Mario GTR records are set to tumble and with a few big HP GTR's on the build, the competition is finally turning into what I've been hoping it would for at least 2 years.

My question is this: Is Keirs 32GTR now eligable to become a RH9 car? If so, I believe its the first GTR in Australia to be eligable. (Mario's is in the Pro class)

I reckon that Kier's car is Australia's 1st recognised RH9 car.

He was road registered, had streetable tyres, what else do you need? He drove it in, ran and drove it out again.

As mentioned above, Mario had the record but ran full slicks in a fully stripped car putting him in a completely different category of ProGTR. I'm hanging to see that car run a "real" time for the amount of HP it's claimed to have (exact figures have never been published).

Congrats to Kier and his crew for making a mark in the Aussie Jap car history books.

The official RH9 sticker reads ;

The street specs of GTR,0-400m 9 second's

Record Holders Club.

Danny(denzo) gave me his RH9 stickers when he stopped draging

his white R32 GTR due to breakages.(has sick drift cars instead)

I believe, in Japan, if a GTR runs street tyres & can drive out to

the track, run nines then drive home again, it is a RH9 car.

There is a fine line though.Most GTRs capable of running nines would be trailered to the track due to logistical reasons.Why wear

out a highly tuned GTR in traffic when you can unleash it on the track?

The problem we have in Australia is that the only "street tyres"