SAU Community

Air Regulator Maintenance

eXc

Please bare with me until I get the formatting correct. I need to learn how to do 'tabs' in forum code.

Pics are hosted on my site and on here incase one goes down.

Cleaning/Fixing An Air Regulator

Disclaimer

You do everything at your own risk. This is meant as a guide only, you will need to adapt it to your car if it is different. I am not a mechanic, I did this for the first time with very little help, and just worked it out as I went. I hope this will make it easier for others. I have bad grammar and I probably don’t know the correct names for parts, so you’ll just have to deal.

Purpose

The purpose of this tutorial is to show any inexperienced person how to remove and clean/fix the Air Regulator, on a R32 GTST. However all the RB engines should be very similar, you should be able to adapt this tutorial to your RB.

How does it work?

It uses an electrically heated bimetallic strip to rotate a disc that opens a hole that allows air to bypass the throttle body to increase idle speed while the engine is warming up

Why Clean it?

When I bought my car, it wouldn’t idle correctly. It stayed at 1500-2200 the whole time, cold or warm. I managed to correctly adjust the TPS (Throttle Position Sensor) which made the revs come down from 2000 to 1500. Obviously this is to high (aim for around 700 RPM while idling with the Air Conditioner off.

I am sure there are other reasons to clean/fix the Air Regulator, I will update this tutorial when I learn of other reasons.

What Is The Main Problem With Them?

There is a pin that holds the disc in place, if that pin falls out, or the spring attached to the disc comes off, the Air Regulator doesn’t work correctly.

My Car Idles Fine, Should I Clean The Air Regulator?

Good question. Personally I say if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it. Others however have said that it is a good idea to include cleaning the Air Regulator in your general maintenance.

How Hard Is It To Do?