SAU Community

Installing Mech Lsd Into R32-gts Non Turbo

skit

Hi all,

This is my first post, I have searched extensively but cannot find the answers I'm looking for, I hope someone here can offer some help.

First up, I'm considering bringing in a nice 4 door r32 gts (non turbo) which I have come across. I'm a big fan of N/A reliability, hence considering this option over a gts-t, and a believer that with sorted suspension and a diet, an underpowered car can be very enjoyable to drive (I recently owned a 4a-ge sprinter, good case in point). The car in question has very low km, and appears to be very tidy, whilst I shy away from the idea of buying a thrashed gts-t with 3 x times the km locally.

My primary concern is whether or not an aftermarket mechanical LSD centre for a gts-t can be bolted into the r32 non turbo (short nose) R200 diff housing. Now, I am new to skylines (& Nissan's in general) however after hours of searching forums and sites, I cannot find a concrete answer. I suspect not, given the gts and gts-t housings seem to have different bolt patterns to the axle housing (5 bolt & 6 bolt?).

Surely someone has come across this issue in a gts + t conversion? Or is it a simpler task to buy a complete disc to disc gts-t rear end (which I presume should bolt straight in) and then look to a mechanical LSD centre for it? Of course I have the 5 stud issue to contend with then aswell.....

*EDIT- I just recalled that given HICAS was standard on gts-t's, this may present some issues using a complete rear end in the gts - but then I don't want HICAS anyhow. This gts has no sunroof, so I presume it is not the optioned up model that came with HICAS.*

So - can anyone offer some advice please?