Almost completed my engine/gearbox conversion on my cefiro. I only put power steering fluid in today and found that the power steering isn't working.

The power steering and hicas was working before the conversion started. Since then I have replaced the rear subframe with a non-hicas item, removed the rear lines, the hicas solenoid, and looped the hicas supply straight into the reservoir.

I've read all the stuff I can find on power steering/hicas issues on SAU.com and NS.com

Here is a list of things that I have considered and what I've tried.

The power steering pump on the new engine is rooted?

I disconnected the lines off the pump and turned the engine on, fluid came pissing out the fittings so I'm assuming that the pump is working. I can't try my old pump (which I know works) as I don't have it anymore.

Issues with the power steering solenoid

Battery is fully charged and alternator is working, so it's not a voltage (or lack of) issue. I have a spare R32 rack (non-hicas model), and can see the solenoid is mounted on the rack next to the connection block and has 2 wires coming out of it. I can't find a solenoid like this on the cefiro rack. Do cefiros have a power steer solenoid on the rack?

I have considered swapping the R32 rack and lines in, but the R32 lines don't appear to have a pressure sensor (apparently it's an idle up for the power steer pump?).

Speed Sensor

My speedometer is working, but that is cable operated. Is there a way to test my speed sensor?

Hicas Computer

I don't know where the hicas computer is located on the cefiro. The hicas warning light was on when I didn't have fluid in the reservoir, but it has turned off since I filled it with fluid.

I jacked the front of the car up, and turned the steering wheel left to right with the engine on, to try bleed the air out, but it didn't have any effect.

I could try the R32 rack, but I don't know if it does work (it came out of my half cut) and it doesn't have that pressure switch on the supply line.

I'm assuming since the steering was working before the conversion that the problem is either electrical related (speed sensor or hicas computer?) or that the p/s pump isn't making enough pressure.

Is there a better way of testing the pump, besides disconnecting the lines to see if fluid comes out?

Would appreciate any input related to this problem,

thanks, Luke

Edited by daisu
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/149334-powersteering-not-working/

I reckon it could be hicas computer not plugged in. It goes heavy when it's not plugged in.

Have you checked under the parcel shelf for the computer? That's where I'm guessing it would be as that's where it is on R32s. On S13s it's supposedly in the rear left arm rest, but you have a 4dr so I'd doubt it would be in there

May sound like a stupid question but did you loop the rear outlet of the pump into the front inlet of the resevoir?

There are no spare plugs or computer under my parcel shelf. There is a computer behind the drivers kick panel but I'm assuming this is the auto computer, it is plugged in anyway.

I didn't think the orientation of the return lines on the reservoir would make a difference, as it is just a collector.

Can someone tell me what the hicas computer looks like, how big it is, it has 2 connectors right? How many pins are in the connectors? Is there any obvious writing on the computer?

Well I'm just thinking if you took off the rear return line, this is the return from the front rack, so if this isn't working, you wouldn't have power steering. Just a stab in the dark

The Hicas computer is around 180x150x40mm. One of the plugs has 2x4pins and I think the other has 2x6pins could be 2x5 though, cant remember...

Dont remember anything distinctive on the computer, just plain looking like the ECU.

I removed all the hicas related lines and left the front power steering completely alone. Then I had 1 spare outlet from the pump, and 1 spare inlet to the reservoir which I connected together.

Hopefully I'll find the hicas computer tomorrow.

Edited by daisu

I didn't end up finding the computer, so I replaced the p/s pump. It was a real pain in the arse to fit the replacement on, especially when everything is covered in p/s fluid and the sun is beating down on you in the arvo. Turns out it was the pump and not the computer or the rack (thank god for that).

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• Thanks for all the replies fellas. Gonna finish putting it back together and see how it handles the set up. If it starts pinging it’ll be parked.
    • Well, I can recommend the partial AV system translation CD I ordered from Car Audio Workshop in NZ. Whilst it didn't address the date issue, it has conveniently translated on-screen menu items into English, and now allows the GPS-received time to be offset in hours rather than minutes, so I can display Eastern Australian time accurately ( and bump it by another hour when daylight savings starts ).
    • Yuh, if it's 45°C outside, my car is driving in it.
    • I'd be curious to hear more. Otherwise, have you driven a modern x-trail? I wonder how it compares. Here in Australia they are/were popular for rentals and fleet vehicles. I have been in some and my impression was they are bad. But, this may have been very different in the 2000s at a good trim level. Twenty years is plenty of time to make the model worse. I do very much agree with the 2 silver cars in the garage approach. But, not driving because it's too hot would not leave a lot of time in the year for many Australians. I don't think you need to worry too much unless the car has actual issues with overheating. 
    • Back again. I returned to Japan in Jul/Aug to spend time with the car on my birthday and remind myself what all the sacrifice and compromise is for. It happened to line up with the monthly morning meet in Okutama, which I have been wanting to go to for a long time. It's a unique event at a unique spot with really rare, interesting, and quirky cars. It's where all the oldheads and OGs gather. The nighttime scene at DKF certainly has its place and should be experienced if you're into cars, but there's too much bad attention and negativity around it now. IMO the better time is Sunday morning at DKF or Okutama; it's more chill and relaxed. I'm glad I was finally able to go, but not sure it's worth the drive from all the way from Nagoya immediately the day before, unless I was already staying in Tokyo for the days right before the meet, because you have to wake up quite early to make it in time. Funnily enough though I didn't drive the car all that much this trip because it was just too damn hot. While there were zero issues and running temps were nominal and the A/C was strong, RBs already run crazy hot as it is. Sure, it took it all like a champ but something about driving these cars in the ridiculous heat/humidity bothers me and makes me feel like I'm asking too much of it. I'm just me being weird and treating the car like a living thing with feelings; I'm mechanically sympathetic to a fault. Instead I was mainly driving something else around - a KX4(silver) 2001 X-Trail GT, that I acquired in May. There's a few different flavors to choose from with Xs, but visually it's the Nissan version of the Honda CR-V. Mechanically it's a whole different story as this, being the top-trim GT, has an SR20VET mated to a four-speed auto and full-time AWD! It was a very affordable buy in exceptional condition inside and out, with very low mileage...only 48k kms. Most likely it was owned by an older person who kept it garaged and well-maintained, so I'm really happy with how it all worked out. It literally needs zero attention at the moment, albeit except for some minor visual touch-ups. I wanted something quirky, interesting, and practical and for sure it handily delivers on all three of those aspects. I was immediately able to utilize the cargo and passenger capacity to its full extent. It's a lot of fun to drive and is quite punchy through 1st and 2nd. It's very unassuming -in the twisty bits it's a lot more composed than one would think at a glance- and it'll be even better once I get better tires on it(yes, it's an SUV but still a little boat-y for my liking). So...now I have two golden-era Nissans in silver. One sports car and one that does everything else; the perfect two-car solution I think👍 The rest of the trip...I was able to turn my stressed brain off and enjoy it, although I didn't quite get to do as much as I thought. I did some interesting things, met some interesting people, and happened into some interesting situations however, that's all for another post though only if people really want to know. Project-wise, I went back to Mine's again to discuss more plans and am hoping to wrap that up real soon; keep watching this space if that interests you. Additionally, while working in the tormenting sweatbox that is the warehouse, I was able to organize most of the myriad of parts that my friend is storing for me along with the cars, and the 34 has a nice little spot carved out for it: And since it can get so stupid hot in there, that made it all the more easy -after I was standing there looking at the car and said 'f**k it'- to finally remove all the damn gauges that have mostly been an eyesore all this time. Huzzah. The heat basically makes the adhesive backing on the gauge mounts more pliable to work with, so it was far less stressful getting this done. I didn't fully clean it up or chase the wiring though; that will happen once I have the car in closer possession. Another major reason to remove all that stuff is to give people less reasons to get in my car and steal s**t while it's being exported/imported when/if the time comes, which leads us to my next point... ...and that is even though it's time in Japan is technically almost up since it's a November car and the X would be coming in March, I'm still not entirely sure where my life and career is headed; I don't really know what the future looks like and where I'm going to end up. I feel there's a great deal of uncertainty with me and as a result of that, it feels like I'm at a crossroads moreso now than any point in my life thus far and there are some choices I need to make. Yes, I've had some years to consider things and prepare myself, however too much has happened in that time to maintain confidence and everything feels so up in the air; tenuous one might say. Simply put, there's just too much nonsense going on right now from multiple vectors. Admittedly, I'm struggling to stay in the game and keep my eyes on the prize. So much so in fact, that very recently I came the closest I ever have before to calling it quits outright; selling everything and moving on and not looking back. The astute among you will pick up on key subtext within this paragraph. In the meantime I've still managed to slowly acquire some final bits for the car, but it feels nice knowing there's not much left to get and I'm almost across that finish line; I have almost everything I'll ever want for my interpretation and expression on what it is I think an R34 should be. 'til later.