Radar Detectors

fr0st

• Replies 41

www.radardetectors.com.au for all your avoiding paying the government money needs

I buy gear all the time from the USA for my bike.

I have never had to pay duty yet only postage.

Those prices for the Cobra detectors seem pretty good

I sent a message to the seller of the first item asking about import tax and he bacically replied "There is tax for radar detectors coming into australia, so we mark them as headphones"

So for roughtly $70 aus you can have a radar detector delivered to your door. Obvously its not going to be great quality but for 70 bucks I would be willing to give it a go. The last link looks quite good aswell, but I'm not sure on the import tax situation so I'll look into it.

Cheers for your suggestions guys

Has anyone here used a Cobra brand radar detector before?

I found this one also.. XRS 9700

http://www.cardomain.com/item/COBXRS9700?ref=deal

They seem to be pretty cheap, which is exactly what worries me. Lots of features tho.

Brent.

Has anyone here used a Cobra brand radar detector before?

I found this one also.. XRS 9700

http://www.cardomain.com/item/COBXRS9700?ref=deal

They seem to be pretty cheap, which is exactly what worries me. Lots of features tho.

Brent.

I'm interested now

http://www.radarbusters.com/

http://www.buyradardetectors.com/?source=g...CFTUMQgodQyhk7w

http://www.radartest.com/article.asp?articleID=2003

Theres a few other free reviews on that site depending on what price range the detector you want is.

The other two ebay sellers got in contact with me and only one would make the detector as a gift. But the one who wouldn't said they mark the value really low so you pay next to no import tax.

what ever happened to scramblers?

they are illegal no? man they are kool tho :yes:

I can't wait till they get to this part of my engineering degree :yes:

I know a little already so I'll share the love...

Multinovas can't be jammed because at the distance they take the photo its almost impossible to flood them with noise. Because there narrow band it makes it difficult.

At a distance handheld radar can be jammed however. The reflections are really weak and you can basically flood the cops radar with your own. Since your transmitting your own signal you can modulate it to show whatever speed you want on the cops radar. As you get close however you lose your effectiveness and they get your true speed. It does however give you heaps of time to break... and its also highly illegal :D

Jamming lasers is fairly easy aswell. Since they always aim for the numberplate or headlights you throw heaps of infra leds in there modulating randomly in the general direction of your favourite law enforcement officer. Most of the new lidar guns detect jamming so they'll just ping you anyway with an even bigger fine :)

In short is not really worth jamming except lidar (laser) where you can jam piggy enough so you can slow down and then let him get a proper reading. It's far from foolproof though... I wouldn't want to risk getting caught doing it

Where are you studying Frost?

And are you loving Fourier Series yet?

Brent.

Curtin, 2nd year of electronics and communications

Havn't done much on fourier... but it sounds like too much work

Just a little update,

I just bought this after a bit of paypal drama (which cost me $50 :dry: )

Anyway, it was $142 Aus shipped to my door. Fingers crossed that it actually gets here... and I don't get shafted by import tax :wave:

Mate, I feel sorry for you...

That thing is going to give you NO range on multi's.. Way back before i got my Escort 8500 I tried a cobra. Used it for a week then flogged it off in the quokka. It was bloody useless.

Mate, I feel sorry for you...

That thing is going to give you NO range on multi's.. Way back before i got my Escort 8500 I tried a cobra. Used it for a week then flogged it off in the quokka. It was bloody useless.

Really? f#$% :)

What model did you try out?

I checked the reviews and similar models are on par with everything else in that price range (besides the bel detectors, but I don't fancy selling my left nut for one). It only cost me $140 delivered... I could pawn it off for that easy :spank:

Ive had a few detectors in my time and i've realised price=quality. The best one i've used is the Escort 8500. I paid $500 i think on special from www.nomorefines.com.au

You should be able to flog it off for like 150 easy in the quokka though :spank:

unless they physically look inside your car... can it be 'detected' that you HAVE one?

Radar detector detectors do exist and work. The expensive radar detectors can detect the detector detectors and turn themselves off... others are just very hard to the detector detectors to find because they emit very little radar (all detectors will emit a little).

I've heard of people putting in valentine 1 detectors and getting a stealth install. There worth a grand or so installed so it depends on how keen you are not to get caught.

Have you received and tried your detector yet?

Yep, recieved it last friday with no import tax

Found a multinova today to play with :)

The first time I got warned well in advance. On my way back home I went past the multinova twice again (for good measure) and the detector only went off when the camera was aimed directly at me. Second time there was a car in front of me. The third time was pretty clear. It seemed to pick it up at full strength just after I passed the camera which suggests to me it could be an aiming/position issue with the detector.

Basically its doing a great job of detecting petrol stations and shopping centers at the moment :happy:

I'm sure I could get it working alot better if I changed its position and maybe tinkered with its internals but I'm just going to sell it and buy a better one.

I'm thinking bel this time :(

I got a Bel Express 795 for $140 delivered.

Once I worked out the correct position it stopped alarming constantly.

Where's a Multinova when you want one.

Tired of getting done for 6-7kms over on quiet,empty 2 lane highways