Ok so I think my input shaft bearing has died so the plan is to take out the gearbox

take it to a gearbox place (heard there is a guy in Capalaba that is quite reasonable)

hopefully get new bearings (4 or 5 not sure how many there are)

and then put the sucker back in!

Anyone got any advice? Tried searching and found two threads but none had any pictures...

(already have all 4 wheels on ramps and drained the oil)

and yeah - had all kind of metal on the drain plug :P

Do some serious cost checking before you go ahead and do it. The RB25 box conversion might be worth it. I know you have the argment of its a rebuilt box you know whats in it. But... Its still an rb20 box. Just look in to it is all Im saying. If its $500 or so more, for the RB25 box, Id go with it.

i'd agree with davo here, though you can get rb20 boxes for cheap as, depends if you think you need a 25 box. Yes they are stronger and more reliable/durable etc, but also cost more. Rebuilding a box....yes perhaps but as he said maybe not worth the money.

thanks guys - im afraid on my current budget even if it is only $500 more i might not be able to do it...

where is the best place to buy bearings from? or should i just let the gearbox shop buy them?

ben (donkey punch on here) has had his rb20 rebuilt, and also just had his gears cryo'd, ask him where he got the work done.

also if u need a hand getting it out/putting it back in, just give me a yell mate :)

planning to take it out this weekend - and yeah - never taken one out before so help would be appreciated!

/me PM's j00!

Mate i am having my RB20 gearbox rebuilt for the second time in 12 months, the reason im sticking with the rb20 box is because we would like to see with the cryo treated parts how much abuse the gearbox will actually hold, lucky i have an awesome mechanic that is willing to go along with my crazy trains of thought.

But as soon as this gearbox calls it quits ill be getting a new box either RB25, VG30 or PPG gears but in mine. I also have an idea about adpating another brand of gearbox to the RB, but i need to do more research into it before it goes much further.

If you want the bearings send dan an email as he will be able to get them for you, as he just ordered mine. [email protected]

If i was you i would also get the internals of the gearbox cryoed, at $120 bucks it is cheap insurance. they do need to have the gears over the weekend, so drop em off friday pick em up on monday to get the full effect of the process. Heat Treatments - 32 Gay Street, Coopers Plains Ph: 07 3345 4944

I was also talking to the tech guy out there and he said that the ambos get their brake rotors treated and the get 4x longer life out of them.

Anyways if you need any more info just hit me up,

Ben

ben (donkey punch on here) has had his rb20 rebuilt, and also just had his gears cryo'd, ask him where he got the work done.

also if u need a hand getting it out/putting it back in, just give me a yell mate :(

Great!, does that mean I have to keep my phone on now?

or you could cut the crap and just come out and do it for us :closedeyes:

hahaha - sounds good! (about to start shortly so yeah - if anyone is bored

please come around and give me some advice! I live in Cleveland...

My number is 0430 522 560 - Shane I'll give you a call later on! :)

(or maybe you should let me know when you've finished fixing all the other cars

HAHAHA

oi - how do i take the tail shaft out? undo it at the diff side and then pull it towards the back so it comes out at the gearbox side

(exhaust is off)

woah ur heaps into it :P

undo the 4 bolts on the shaft that connect to the diff, drop that end down and slide the shaft outta the box

now you reply! yeah already done :(

tail shaft is out now - now just for the actual gearbox...... :P

A few of us (including Chris (SevenAngryPenguins) and I) went out into the valley last night

and only got home at 4am or so so yeah... motivation was low today...

will finish of the sucker tomorrow

now you reply! yeah already done :(

tail shaft is out now - now just for the actual gearbox...... :P

A few of us (including Chris (SevenAngryPenguins) and I) went out into the valley last night

and only got home at 4am or so so yeah... motivation was low today...

will finish of the sucker tomorrow

yeah tell me about it i drank a bottle of vodka then went to the alex, make sure your feeling strong for tomorrow.