• Replies 123

No but he drove like a wanker,

what a punk, shoulda went n leaned on his rearview mirror i hear they cost 7k each he woulda loved it :laugh:

also just thought id mention there's a calculator somewhere on the net to figure out how much your speedo will be out with bigger wheels cant remember the site name.

well i think you did really well for your first time out on the track chad xx

and andy you did really well to the lambo was only 2 sec quicker and you pulled away from that v8 super ute that was funny

well i think you did really well for your first time out on the track chad xx

and andy you did really well to the lambo was only 2 sec quicker and you pulled away from that v8 super ute that was funny

Gotta remember that ute has restrictions for its class........

chads 284 awkw, andy is 400 awkw

was gonna say Andrews must be 400kw or more!! Our Celica was on the dyno at Boostworx that morning before we came and only pulled 185kw, think we ran a 1:18 that day with only 25psi oil pressure......lol

^^^^^^ caorse it is worth getting out there. im thinking of taking my beast on the track.. detuned atm its only got 150 kw... good to get it out ya system instead of on the streets

Trust me, it was the best fun i have ever had in my car, never thought i could drift turn 2 in a GTS4, but i pulled it off :D just make sure you have plenty of meat on ya brake pads :blush:

I've raced many different cars at Mallala - including a Hyundai S coupe (????? yep it was slow - 1:32 hehehe) but I ALWAYS had and have fun. one common theme I often hear is that people don't want to go out in their car until it is 'ready' or just one more mod till they are gonna go out - unless your brakes are worn out or there is something safety related, take it out!! If anything you'll have a great time, learn to drive your car properly in the right environment, and it will guide your choice as to next mods. Hell, the performance car game is full of '......I can't wait to get x , then I'll be faster/stop quicker/handle better.......' BTW I ran on Sat with a buggered coilover (seals shot, oil leaked out), and semis on the wear limit and out of heat cycles. Still had a blast as always though :blush:

got a price on the r888, 225/45/17 $400each :)

Might just get some R1R's

You will not need Brand New race rubber, just find some 2nd handies that race guys dont need any more, they will be fine for what you need to do!! Pity you guys weren't out there the prac before......... There was a trailor near the out grid full of 2nd handies!!

Even if you can find some decent 2nd hand race rubber in a 16 to suit stock wheels, they will be much better than new tyres on a 17 or 18, If your on new tyres and they get up to temp then the rubber blocks will feel like shite after a couple hard laps, prob be better running half worn tyres so you dont get so much rubber movement!!

i'm guessing the weeks gallardo is over for the tarmac rally this weekend up in the hills (28-19th)

there is another private track day this thursday for some of the competitors)

Yeh sure is mate, he had his saloon Car out there also, only brought the Lambo out for a session or 2 at the end, He is from SA btw!!

he can sorta drive but has coin and thinks his shite dont smell, All i remember is one year in Classics he had a hot as navigator, and my mate goes up to the car(we were officials) and says "geez mate you have some really nice seat covers" She smiled.......lol

where could i get second hand race rubber from? in a 225 or 235/45/17

Would it be best to just head out there and see if anyone is selling some?

thanks Luke

Hmmmm 17s you say!! well i know the Saloon Cars use Kuhmos and they are a 17 for the AU/VT cars, maybe try ringing up the Kuhmo rep in SA or just ring a tyre joint that seels Kuhmos and get them to give you the dealers number and see if they have any 2nd Handies.

we get our Yokohamas from North Terrace Tyres not sure if they would have any 17s tho as our class doesn't run them, ring them and see tho, they might have something they have taken off another car!!

had such a good time today, most fun i've ever had behind the wheel of a car. Farstest lap i did was a 1.25 on my street tyres. Thanks to Andy for the advise, it definatly helped me. The car ran perfect all day, untill i had a look at my front brakes :)

brakedisc.jpg

could the fracture in the brake rotors be a result of the cold temps at 10am, and a sudden increase in temp when on the track???