SAU Community

Flywheel question

Warpspeed

I have read somewhere(on the net) that the NISSAN RB20DET/RB25DE/RB25DET/RB26DETT are interchangeable(this is backed up by the fact that the JUN flywheels for these engines are the same part number!) and the factory ones are made from cast!(don't know what grade steel?)

Some aftermarket ones are made from forged Chrome-molybdenum steel!(and some are even made from Aluminum!!)

but I'am not quite sure about the pressure plate though because they would probably have different clamp pressures! But the pressure plate(standard) is made of Nodular iron!!

MEGA

P.s but don't trust me because I drive an auto!!!(will be manual very soon! :uh-huh: )

Thanks Mega. I am new to skylines and still have a lot to learn. My thoughts are that a bog stock RB25DE may have a nasty flywheel, where an RB26DETT may have something far better that is not going to go out through the windscreen at 8000RPM.

As you say, the RB motors probably all have a similar sized flywheel, but the quality of material may vary.

I have actually seen a cast grey iron flywheel split in two when accidently dropped onto concrete (woops !)

Am planning to put an RB26 crank and rods into a GTS-4, and am just wondering if the stock flywheel is up to the job.

Didn't think that you could use RB26 crank in a RB25?

(maybe I don't know? :confused: )

RB25DE

Bore x Stroke (mm) 86.0 x 71.7

RB26DETT

Bore x Stroke (mm) 86.0 x 73.7

Might work but to what benefit? I have seen RB26 heads on RB25s and a few RB26 heads on RB30s and even RB25 head on a RB30 but none used internal parts from the RB26!!

this is a site showing the benefits of such a head convesion!(RB25 head on RB30 block)

http://www.autospeed.com/A_0004/article.html

MEGA

RB25, RB26, and RB30 all have 86mm bore. It is the RB20 that has the smaller bore. I also understand that the 4WD blocks are different from the "normal"blocks in that the pan rails are wider apart for the special sump.