SAU Community

Hello From The Uk - Any Advice Welcome!

Hum@nzee

Hi from Birmingham England - I've been reading the forum for a week or so with great interest as I've just picked up my 1996 Stagea RS Four V (got the electric boot lid lock and the pillar speakers - blown! - used the info on the forum to identify it). It sounds like the car is rare in Australia - definitely rare over here - so any advice to a newbie Stagea owner would be welcome. I've got a few questions already if anyone could help me out:

1 what happens if you take the plastic wind deflector things off because mine are cracked and coming adrift - wind noise? Leaky windows? (It rains a lot here!)

2 can I get new ones if I need to replace them - I'll never find them over here.

3 thinking about getting bigger rims - 17s or 18s if poss. - I'm no mechanic and just want an easy fit so perhaps 17s would be better?

4 is my RB25DET motor the same as those in the Skyline GTS - because I'd like to upgrade the induction and exhaust sometime soon (I guess the exhaust will be a different shape but there are loads of places here that will make exhausts to fit) - but at leased some mechanics will be able to help me out if I tell them its basically a long, heavy GTS.

5 is there any benefit to fitting a dump valve on an automatic - I'm not after neck braking performance gains but I understand that a good valve will prolong the life of the turbo.

6 don't laugh but where exactly is the turbo? I know it’s between the air box and the intake but I can't see it!

Finally - sorry for asking dumb questions - go easy on me and thanks in advance from the other side! :(

Edited by Hum@nzee